We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To much sugar in every dish, fat dishes, mediocre service”
Review of Viet Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Viet Thai Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“To much sugar in every dish, fat dishes, mediocre service”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is realy not a good Asian restaurant!
They put to much Sugar in every dish, which ruins the authentic taste. The food is also to fat and not very original.

We were there n a saterday night and were the only guests, apart from a few take away customers. That says enough i'm afraid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NobRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Variety and Value for local Thai & Vietnamese food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great variety of appetizers and mains, all at good value. If eating in, they are licensed and have some Southeast Asian beers, too. The missus and I have also ordered food to go and it was ready in less than 15 minutes for 2 mains and 2 apps. Try the mango salad that packs a nice spicy bite. As other reviewers have noted, the staff is really friendly and it has always been a pleasure to visit.

Note: The location currently shown on the map is a little off. This is on the north side Eglinton at The Chase.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rob_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, good value!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have eaten here on a number of occasions and have not been disappointed. The staff are friendly, the food is great and everything is reasonably priced. Favorite dishes include: tripe soup, sate chicken, spring rolls. The bubble tea is also good, as are the mango shakes!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pho restaurant in a nice neighbourhood!”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I have been coming to this restaurant for almost 12 years now!
It helps that I live just around the corner....

It serves one of the best pho in the city in one of the fanciest decor of any Viet restaurant around.
My current favorite is #109 large.
If the staff read this review they might know who I am ! LOL!

For pho, it's all about the soup stock, as all the other ingredients are similar. The VT stock is so tasty that I rarely leave a drop behind at the end of my meal. The serving size is generous as well.

My wife's favorite is the curry laksa. Whilst it's not like the laksa that we get in Singapore, she loves it as a reasonable substitute.

My kids love the crispy fried chicken wings which are large!
We also like the 'yao tiew' or fried dough sticks which are freshly made or should I saw freshly fried...

BTW, it's closed on Tuesdays....like I found out once too many times when I drove out for a quick bite to be disappointed that it was a Tuesday again...

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Visionsbydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great food at reasonable...”
Reviewed January 30, 2008

Great food at reasonable prices. Excellent wantons. Service a little slow but the food is worth it if you have the time.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing