We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food, but slightly pricey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's Back Door Restaurant

Michael's Back Door Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 1,629 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clarkson Road North
Transit: Mississauga Transit stops at the corner of Lakeshore Rd. W. and Clarkson Rd. N. The Clarkson GO Train station is a 10 minute walk.
Description: Established in 1981, Michael"s Back Door Restaurant has been providing Mississauga and the GTA with award winning cuisine and professional, courteous service, in a warm, comfortable atmosphere. Principle owners, Michael Morra and his son Michael Jr, along with partner, Anthony Coffa, invite you to experience creative Italian, Continental fare offering the freshest ingredients and a variety of rare wines. Whether you are looking for a quick, casual meal, a romantic night out or a group dinner, Michael's Back Door has the perfect "Table" for you.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, but slightly pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food here is always good, varied menu and lots of fresh items. However, the service is not consistent and the prices are slightly over average for fine dining.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Only one thing to say: Angel Hair Lobster Pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Over the years - the little lady and I have been to MBD many times. We went with friends in early January - and results were mixed; I went with the Lobster pasta - this is their signature dish and is spectacular!
My wife had the sea bass - and was disappointed - very oily; our friends had a daily special - and were also not terribly impressed.
Service was excellent as always!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have just discovered a fabulous gem in the Port Credit - Mississauga Lake shore area. It is a very cute, romantic restaurant. The food is absolutely delicious, the staff is excellent, the decor is romantic and the prices are affordable. I have been there three times now and have not had a bad experience yet. For the ultimate romantic evening request seating in the piano room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ambism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was great - the service was very attentive. The room is nicely set up and there is lots of free parking in the back, which I only found by accident. I would recommend this restaurant highly. There seemed to be alot of people that knew other people, so it appeared to be a restaurant that is regularily frequented by the same crowd. Always a good sign.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Food and Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were supposed to go to Toronto to celebrate my daughters 18 birthday but we had to cancel because of the snow storm.We are all dressed up and in a Hummer Limo but stranded on Highway 10 can't go further because of traffic due to the snow storm so we were contemplating where to go eat as we can't let 10 people down and of course spoil the night for the birthday girl.In a last minute decision we thought of Michael's Back Door Restaurant in Lakeshore and Clarkson since we don't know the number we google the info and called the restaurant.We told them that its about 12 of us and we want to come for dinner now and if they could take us in.They were very nice to say yes.Upon arrival my first impression of the place was simply elegant with a touch of class, upon eating the food we all thought we were in seventh heaven.The food was perfection we all ordered the Pasta of the day, the dessert was to die for.Our server was the nicest and the most charming gentleman that keep everyone laughing all through dinner. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to experience great quality dinning.Our highest complement to the chef and to the server.Great job guys.Keep it up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaeR805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Back Door Restaurant also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Michael's Back Door Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing