We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Italian food at a reasonable price”

Mondello Ristorante
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 7/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 2,049 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 25, 2018

Service was prompt and very pleasant; food was very good; prices were quite reasonable.

Our waiter, Jack, was very knowledgeable about the chef and the menu. It was good to know that the staff sample most, if not all, the menu items and have background about how the dishes are prepared.

The arancini was very tasty and probably the best we've had. The rice is based on their mushroom risoltto and you can taste the creaminess of the filling. The calamari was not overcooked and just lightly panko crusted with a slight spiciness. Good wine selection with obvious Old World bias but that's fine considering the restaurant. The duck confit fettucinei was very good (a lot of cream so beware :-), the veal parmigiana was equally good (plenty of veal), but the star of our selections was the braised beef ravioli: very tasty and just an nice olive oil / balsamic vinegar addition so the ravioli was not overpowered by something else.

If your wife says "I'll just have a bite of your dessert", don't believe her. The tiramisu is not to be shared: tell her to get her own. It is light with the nice espresso flavour.

There is no doubt that this is place we will come back to again and again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bence C, General Manager at Mondello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Hi Norm,

We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience with us! Sounds like you know how to enjoy yourself on an evening out. We are always striving to improve every aspect of the dining experience so next time you are in I would love to hear about what style/region of wines you'd like to see on our menu.

Looking forward to seeing you in the dining room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 524 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2018

Henny Bogan Does Mondello’s
When you can really and truly say that you’ve never tasted anything finer, then you know you’re in a superb restaurant. Mondello’s of Streetsville made an appetizingly unsurpassed Caprese Salad and I suppose that the coup de grace was actually the soft, yummy Buffalo cheese, which blended well with the tomatoes and came with a delectable sauce….plus an imaginative presentation. And the eggplant parmigiana was merely flavoursome as a main entrée, and was washed down with a delightful draft beer called Barking Squirrel. My wife’s Butternut Squash Gnocci was deeply succulent as when I sampled a bit when she wasn’t looking. The low noise level was appreciated and the black tablecloth oozed elegance from every stitch. Adding to the mood of the room was the fireplace and the well-stocked bar. Server Jack looked after us like an old pro, being both thoughtful and attentive, while filling us in on changes since our last visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank hennybogan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bence C, General Manager at Mondello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Hi Henny,

We are so happy that you had an incredible experience in our dining room. The lovely feedback and generous words are truly appreciated. We cannot wait to see you for a wonderful evening again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

7 of us ate here Friday the 17 of August. Had a few dietary restrictions but our needs were fully satisfied. This is a busy place so make a early reservation. My son had the egg white old fashion he said one of the best he had ever had.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank fbuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bence C, General Manager at Mondello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We do our best to accommodate all types of dietary restrictions and we are so happy to hear that your needs were fully met :) We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We went here to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary. The reception was very warm, the service was above par and the food, oh the food was just exquisite. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. I will be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pinini753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bence C, General Manager at Mondello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review, Omar! It was our pleasure to host you in our dining room and we are delighted to hear that the food and service exceeded your expectations :). We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Great wines by the glass and bottle. Sommelier's insight appreciated (I believe she is there on weekends). Efficient and courteous service. Part of the transformation of the dining landscape in Streetsville.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DouglasH1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bence C, General Manager at Mondello Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for your amazing review, Douglas! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our great selection of wines and our friendly service. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondello Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Mondello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing