We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondello Ristorante

Mondello Ristorante
Ranked #5 of 1,576 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I really wanted to give this restaurant 5 stars but there were a few things that frankly were small but just were not quite there.
Pros: Had fried rice balls with peas and various other seasonings and these were absolutely exceptional. Also had the pasta with chicken and truffle oil and it was beyond fantastic.
Cons: The presentation of the caprese salad was great but it had several issues. Firstly the tomatoes were in big chunks with the center one being almost whole and were not quite ripe and the fresh basil was hidden at the bottom of the plate. This meant you had to basically manually turn your salad over and reslice your tomatoes to make it as it should be.
The lamb loin main was so thin that it should not have been sliced so thin for presentation but the flavor was great.
Our server was fantastic and was impressed the chef came out to check on our meal. This is a very good restaurant and I would definitely go back. If I could have gone 41/2 star I would have but just wasn't quite there for a 5.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamKerr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    61
    24
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous tasty food. a real find while visiting from London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were visiting Mississauga from London for a wedding and were advised to eat at Mondello. I've eaten in restaurants around the world but never expected to have such fantastic italian food. The chef, Nico, is exceptional. He prides on using the freshest ingredients (even the salads taste amazing) and is not afraid to make food tasty.

There was a bread, oil/vinegar appetiser which was delicious (the olive oil had been imported from a special farm in Italy but it was the bread and vinegar that stood out).

We had a mixed starter that included the softest fried calamari I've ever had with a fantastic sauce, the best bruschetta I've ever had (better than I've had in Italy), salad that was a pleasure to eat and interesting giant meat and rice balls that were good. We had two specials for the mains. Alligator ravioli in tomato sauce...which was spicy and tasted excellent. Seabass in a tomato salsa. The Seabass tasted so amazing that it really didn't need the tomato salsa (which was good separately by itself).

After that we were so full that we didn't get a chance to try the desert (which we heard from other people in the area are meant to be amazing).

The restaurant is very smart. Dress up but you can get away with a shirt and chinos. Service was excellent and exceptionally friendly. The hostess Heather is particularly skilful at hitting the right note.

Mondello is a real find that would be notable in any capital city in the world. If you get a chance, go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The staff was friendly, but the food was just average. We had the pasta with cream sauce, it was bland, I had to add alot of cheese and pepper to give it some flavour. My son had the pizza, and it was comparible to Pizza Pizza, not the gourmet pizza we were expecting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Leti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Italian food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had dinner at Mondellos with our children (8 & 6 years) while visiting Mississauga. The food is good however there are no children's meal. Our kids each got a pasta dish which is fine but instead for paying around $10 for a kids meal you are paying $15-20 each. The food is higher quality which is nice and the service was good which we always expect when you are paying for it. The atmosphere is nice and the staff is friendly. I would recommend it and maybe go back if we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VW1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I planned my birthday dinner at Mondello's Ristorante. Jessica was extremely accomodating and was there to ensure that all the details were taken care of. The staff was also very welcoming and pleasant, the hostess greeted everyone with a genuine smile and was available to help us in any way needed.

Charlotte our server was pleasant, and knowledge, she was very patient and managed a large group of 20 with such grace - thank you.

I loved the ambiance, it was a nice intimate restaurant with great vibe and delicisous food. I think that between the entire group we order everything off the menu amd everyone was extremely pleased. The food was fresh and flavourful and with generous portions. The Penne Arribiata with sausage was so yummy I am still salivating, the sasuage was tender and moist and not overly salty. I was very happy with my meal - did not disappoint, rather exceeded my expectations.

I felt like I was in Jessica's home as a guest - I had a table for my cake and also gifts, guest were comfy and simply enjoyed the nice night out of festivities. The best part as that the restaurant happily served my cake- that was an unexpected bonus and I was so tahnkful for them for just making everything AMAZING.

I am thrilled that I picked Mondello's to celebrate my 30th - I know that I will be back and so will many of my guests. thank you Jessica and your remarkable team for the warmth you showed me, you helped to make this a very memorable birthday celebration.

THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsThriftynChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondello Ristorante also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Mondello Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing