We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Mississauga!”
Review of Bistro Narra

Bistro Narra
Ranked #43 of 1,665 Restaurants in Mississauga
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Bistro Narra is where true quality is not merely defined by delicious taste and superb service... You should also feel at home.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Mississauga!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went there recently for their lobsterfest, and it was delicious! We ordered the lobster bisque, and at first, it tasted bland and watery, but they fixed it right away without question and after that, it tasted delicious!!! We tried out most of their lobster dishes, and all were tasty. We saved room for their delicious cakes too!! It's located in a strip mall so you probably won't notice it there but it's a gem! I'm glad to live so close to this restaurant, finally don't have to drive all the way to Toronto to get a nice meal! I would recommend making a reservation as it does fill up fast! This is our go-to special occasion restaurant.
*Another great thing about this place is that their menu changes often so keep checking on their website!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lobstergirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    48
    15
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dinner”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I live in the Churchill Meadows neighbourhood and was very surprised to discover this restaurant. We took our son their for his 21st birthday and had an exceptional good meal. The atmosphere is upbeat but casual. The real celebration is the selection of unique menu items. We enjoyed the Chicken Rouland and Veal Wellington. Presentations were creative, dishes were fresh and favourable. I enjoyed the corn soup (a pleasant surprise) and we shared the best prepared calamari with a fresh baby arugula salad that we have ever had. Overall service was attentive and helpful. We definitely plan to return. Thanks Bistro Narra for a lovely evening! It was wonderful to experience fine dining amongst the clutter of fast food chain eateries in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeTripdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“One of our new favourites”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Absolutely love this place. As another reviewer stated, you might walk right by this spot but whenever we go, it is always busy. And now we know why. From the warm and friendly reception that greets you the minute you arrive to the friendly attentive service, coupled with menus that are always interesting and superbly prepared, we look forward to every visit. Reservations are a must on weekends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry3610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't need to drive downtown for outstanding food”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

As others have said you would walk past this restaurant without thinking it could surprise your taste buds. And you would be wrong.

I am proud 'Ssauga, the stereotype of suburbs hosts this place.

The warm breads, garlic butter and another spread that looked and tasted like aioli arrive as soon as you finish placing your order. Good start, but don't fill up - leave room for the important dishes.

We had calamari and Cesar salad for starters. Calamari is grilled whole (Baby) not breaded with a side of arugula and a very nice sauce. Tender as it should be. Very intense flavour. Cesar salad is...Cesar salad. What surprised me was large chunks of shaved parmeggiano. You rarely get parm. in cesars at restaurants.

The chicken/mushroom crepe and venison wellington we had for mains were also delicious. Yet another superb white sauce on the crepe and venison that does not fall apart when touched. Everything blended in: puffy pastry, duxelles sticking to the meat. I even think they wrapped the meat in a thin crepe so the pastry would not get soggy. That's what I call cooking. The price reflects the complexity of the dish, but it's worth the splurge.

My companions ordered deserts, found them delicious. There is a wide variety to order from.

Will go back to try the halibut and seafood crepe.

Keep it up Narra.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank the_atomic_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food ok, not French, but good service”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is NOT a French bistro. Although some dishes are typically French, a good half of the menu is either classic salads or downright Italian. There was no staff either in the kitchen or waiting tables that were French, or even European. Although our waiter was very polite and friendly, he did not know much about the dishes. There is only one bottle of French wine on the list. The duck confit salad was good, although the dressing was bland. The 4-course meal was disappointing except for the Beef Wellington (an English dish) which was succulent. Note: French don't eat their beans raw or their grilled vegetables carbonized. Tuna tartare does not go well with such a sweet sorbet, Japanese pickled ginger does not go with regular pickles. The Tiramisu was dry and bland, missing coffee and mascarpone. The decor is cold and cheap (they could at least replace blown out bulbs). We were looking for a quick, good Sunday night meal coming home from visiting friends and it was pleasantly surprising to find an alternative to chain restaurants in this neighborhood. But this place is definitely average and overpriced, although service was very good (there was only one table other than ours).

Helpful?
Thank Alliocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Narra also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
 
 

Been to Bistro Narra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing