We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casalinga Ristorante

Casalinga Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Casalinga Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,565 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fried calamari amongst the best I have had. Excellent pizza. Penne ragu well made and tasty. Veal pizzaiola was moist and tender. Great wine list. Excellent service. My only criticism, you have to cook pasta in briny water. Definite repeat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PilotCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable...Great food, value & welcoming atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have ate here many times and introduce friends & family to the restaurant who have become a regulars as a result. Yes, it's tiny making it for us more intimate. Our personal experience is they always try their best to accommodate you even when you don't have reservations.

I love that they will adjust the sauce in the dishes to your liking i.e. red sauce vs white etc. My personal favourites are: Prosciutto & Funghi pizza along with the Penne Casalinga in a rose sauce. This is a restaurant where I feel the over all value is VG!

Always a great dinner & enjoyable atmosphere!

My only recommendation is to DO NOT always hold back so much on the parmesan cheese.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Tucked away at Southdown and Lakeshore, I liked everything about this place. The service was friendly, fast and knowledgeable. The food was delicious and fresh. I never order calimari (too rubbery) Not here, was fantastic. Not overpriced and the fact that it was busy early on a Wednesday summer night indicates how popular this place is. Excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GGG1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific but be Organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This a very authentic Italian restaurant in the neighbourhood but you have to organized. Very little chance of getting in without reservations. A very small restaurant with exceptional food and mediocre service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LornePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is by far the best Italian restaurant I have ever been to. After returning from a trip to Italy with my husband we stumbled upon this place and I can honestly say the food and menu is as good as what you get in Italy. The calamari is to die for and we've tried a few of the pizza's which are all excellent. The penne a la vodka is also fantastic. As well, one thing we missed the most about Italy is the espresso and it tastes amazing here.

The service is also very good. They always remember us when we come in, and take the time to talk.

I highly recommend this place!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casalinga Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Casalinga Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing