We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome doubles!”

Charlie's Caribbean Cuisine
Ranked #206 of 1,665 Restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Caribbean, Chinese, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Awesome doubles!”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friends brought me here one day for lunch. They will drive from Hamilton to eat the roti and jerk chicken here. I was excited to see that they still have doubles available at lunch time (many other places run out in the morning). Not only were there doubles, they had meat doubles, which I hadn't seen before. I had both! They were great. They give you a choice of meat fillings for the meat doubles and I choose the curried chicken. They also asked how spicy I would want it and I found that this was great as I don't like mild, but I can't handle really hot. They came quickly and hot. I happily dug in and enjoyed every bite. My friends had the lunch special of jerk chicken with rice and beans. The prices are reasonable, the place is busy, and the staff were friendly. The parking lot can be a bit crazy, so I suggest backing into your spot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 35CanuckGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Heard about this place from word of month”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The only way to discover this place is by word of month. Let me tell you, it is the best home cooked West Indian food I have ever tasted. The chicken roti is delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Havent had better West Indian food yet!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My mother in law hooked me on to this place a few years ago. Growing up I typically didn't try a lot of different food but this place opened my taste buds up to a whole new world.

A 5 out of 5 rating is unheard of in my opinion. A 4 out of 5 at least gives the places something to work for.

I think i have had or tried the majority of dishes here. Nothing here disappoints. Everything is good. Service is friendly, food is tasty, but be aware they run on island time. A little slow at times but i always seem to wait which should tell you something about their food.

Their curry goat, curry chicken, roti and dry chili chicken are my go to's and they are all to die for.

I have also used Charlie's for catering family events and everything was prepared on time with the same quality.

Charlie's is the only place I regularly go to for West Indian Food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cglof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best roti in Canada”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

When ever I am in Canada, Charlie's is the old place I go for real Trinidad home cooking, roti, doubles, pudding everything, just like Trinidad. The best

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We love the Roti's!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Every time we have a craving for Roti, we come to Charlies, and the portion size is great so that we always have leftovers which are good cold too. The doubles are delicious and if you come here, try the fish cakes as well. It can get pretty busy here as there is a lot of people that come for take-out and there are only a small number of tables, so the food can be slow to get to you, but the wait is well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smurfette3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Caribbean Cuisine also viewed

 
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to Charlie's Caribbean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing