We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Saravanaa Bhavan

Saravanaa Bhavan
Ranked #834 of 1,648 Restaurants in Mississauga
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: south indian food, dosas
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It took me four visits to finally know and write a review on this. I will rate this place an average place. Food is on borderline of being OK. I noticed stomach uneasiness everytime when I ate here which is my way to know about quality of food. You will find many boys and girls waiting to serve you, locating you a place to sit and thats it. Just when we sat, boy came and asked "some people know what to order. Are your ready?" Not sure if it is efficiency or eagerness to accomodate more customers.

Idlis (rice puffs) soaked in Sambhar (south indian curry) delivered with a fork. Got a spoon when I requested one of the boy to teach us how to eat Sambhar with Fork. Next order delivered was wrong which was replaced with the correct one. Asked for extra portion and waited long since the boy forgot and realized while he saw me waiting. Dosas seem not to have right proportion of rice and lentils making it taste different that what it should be. Uttapam (Thick south indian crepes sprinkeled with onions and chillies) was uneven making it half baked at certain portions. All in all, place to visit if you are bored from your regular places. Having tasted at Saravana Bhawans in London, Kuala Lumpur and Chennai, only one I liked was at Chennai in India.

My favorite remains the one at 40, Bristol road, Mississauga. Limited people to serve but done with a way and patience. More so it tastes same almost everytime, authentic. Little to find fault.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    17
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SPICY STUFF. NOT BAD.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Extremely spicy stuff we asked for and turned out to be good. Nice south Indian place. Staff was nice. Cost is reasonable. Service was prompt. We tried the south Indian thali and was excellent, also the other dishes were good. Please try it once but ask them for non spicy if you cannot handle it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacheen Srikant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great south indian restaurant in Mississauga”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Located at 4559 Hurontario, this is a wonderful option if you happen to be in Mississauga. If you happen to be near the business center of the city, this is is a quick walk or a cab-ride.

Vegetarian food only. Vegan options are available.

The dosa is great, so is the kichadi, medu vada and the thali (special meal)

Apparently there's a weekend buffet but I've never had a chance to try it.

The three rice dishes that I've had there were all YUM! Bisibelebath, Bagalabath and Pongal.

If you are in Mississauga, go here ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amrith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maintaining quality and taste”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having dined in Saravana bhavan in 4 different countries, this is one place where they're maintaining close to the same taste as we get in Chennai. We went for a dinner on saturday. We were able to get the seats very quickly. And the service was considerably fast. I would definitely add this to the recommendation list for restaurants around Toronto.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamilPayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware of spoilt food on weekdays”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have been a patron of Saravana Bhavan for more than 20 years across many cities in the world. Over the past 5 years, the quality of the food and the level of customer service has nosedived, consistently across many of its locations, including its locations in Dubai, where I live.

But I saw the nadir of this trend, when I attempted to dine in this restaurant during my visit to Mississauga in II week of May. They actually served Dosas made with batter which has gone so sour. They also gave us chutneys some of which were spoilt. This was a week day evening.

Over the past few visits, I have been observing this trend wherein this restaurant attempts to peddle old and spoilt stuff, particularly on weekday evenings.

Obviously, we walked out. Then we proceeded to a newer south Indian restaurant a short distance down Hurontario and we managed to get what we wanted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saravanaa Bhavan also viewed

 

Been to Saravanaa Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing