We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, try to go during non rush hour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Thanh Vietnamese Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

Ben Thanh Vietnamese Thai Cuisine
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, try to go during non rush hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I must say its a bit more "north Americanized" vs the other pho places. Nicer decor and it has a pretty decent selection of Chinese, Vietnamese, and thai food.
Its nicer to be seated on the inside than the outside area.
Overall a good place to initiate a friend who isn't too used to hole in the wall, slightly more authentic Viet food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ice005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    15
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“They had a good run, but clearly its over”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have been both dining and doing take out from Ben Thanh (Dundas location) for years. I even took the time to write a good review earlier this year. A few days ago I picked up at take out meal which was inedible, for example:
- The spring rolls were burnt.
- The beef and avocado rolls, rather than consisting of tender sliced beef had big unappetizing, chunks of beef stuffed into them, and rather than being accompanied by a nice peanut sauce came with some sort of gelatinous brown slop.
I am shocked and disappointed that they would package this type of food and give it to people to take away.
They had a good run, too bad it's over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mags329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Still worth driving to....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The deep fried rolls are their former overstuffed, delicious self but the lemon grass chicken grilled is still full of flavour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

went there for dinner, we were taken to a table then moved because they wanted to use it to arrange a larger seating for a group. No problem. The new table was dirty, food still on it and no one cared to clean it. We sat for over 15 minutes and no one came to serve us. The group that came in got service immediately. We got up and told the manager, his response was it's not like you were waiting half an hour. Awful place to go. Save your self the time and eat elsewhere, we did and Prince's Japanese Steakhouse made up for this bad experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobsmith1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good food, terrible service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you want to sit and wait for at least 30 min for someone to come and take your order, this is the place. And order everything you want when you finally have the chance to be serviced because they will never come to your table again. Food is ok for the price you pay. The place looks nice but it seems that it is run by a family. do not expect sympathy from the staff, that is asking too much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neuberas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Thanh Vietnamese Thai Cuisine also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing