We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Ranked #87 of 1,578 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just happened to visit this restaurant because the location worked for me and I was pleasantly surprised! It is a very casual, self serve restaurant, you go up to the counter to order your food and they bring it over to your table when it is ready.
Delicious meals at a decent price! Have been back there several times already! Worth a visit if you are in the area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank highlyflammable31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having lived in Southern California for 12 years I was skeptical about finding "real" Mexican food in Mississauga. El Sombrero catered a party for us and the food was fantastic. Fresh, tasty and great portions. Best guacamole north of the 49th - it's the real deal. If you are searching for an authentic Mexican meal stop here. Oh, and save room for dessert!! Bonuelos are a chocoholics dream and the Torija are amazing. We will be back whenever we are in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MumnSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great value, and the food is very authentic everyday Mexican food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped here last night with a friend who had been here before and receomended it to us. We very much enjoyed the food and value, the restaurant is a little small and non descript but the food is great and teh value is a WOW. We will definately come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kpinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The restaurant is simple and cozy, and the food was tasty. The price wasn't that cheap but not unreasonable. We had 3 different dishes and they were all pretty good.

The salsa that came with the chips didn't taste that fresh. Almost as if it came from a jar. But everything else--service, flavor and ,ambiance was good. Nice people! Great Mexican place to eat, clean washroom, too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great flavors!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the best place I've eaten. Burrito is huge and prices are fare. Plus they have beer. It's set up like a fast food place and if the weather is bad 1/2 of their seating is outside

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edlin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing