We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Ranked #146 of 1,684 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just happened to visit this restaurant because the location worked for me and I was pleasantly surprised! It is a very casual, self serve restaurant, you go up to the counter to order your food and they bring it over to your table when it is ready.
Delicious meals at a decent price! Have been back there several times already! Worth a visit if you are in the area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank highlyflammable31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having lived in Southern California for 12 years I was skeptical about finding "real" Mexican food in Mississauga. El Sombrero catered a party for us and the food was fantastic. Fresh, tasty and great portions. Best guacamole north of the 49th - it's the real deal. If you are searching for an authentic Mexican meal stop here. Oh, and save room for dessert!! Bonuelos are a chocoholics dream and the Torija are amazing. We will be back whenever we are in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MumnSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great value, and the food is very authentic everyday Mexican food...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stopped here last night with a friend who had been here before and receomended it to us. We very much enjoyed the food and value, the restaurant is a little small and non descript but the food is great and teh value is a WOW. We will definately come here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The restaurant is simple and cozy, and the food was tasty. The price wasn't that cheap but not unreasonable. We had 3 different dishes and they were all pretty good.

The salsa that came with the chips didn't taste that fresh. Almost as if it came from a jar. But everything else--service, flavor and ,ambiance was good. Nice people! Great Mexican place to eat, clean washroom, too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great flavors!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the best place I've eaten. Burrito is huge and prices are fare. Plus they have beer. It's set up like a fast food place and if the weather is bad 1/2 of their seating is outside

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edlin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing