We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food north of Texas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
35 Brunel Rd, Mississauga, Ontario L4Z 3E8, Canada
(905) 502-0011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 1,565 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food north of Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

When searching for authentic Mexican food in Ontario, look no further than Mississauga's El Sombrero.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellersbestpicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“1 bad experience turned us away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was recommended by a few coworkers for their authentic mexican food. I visited a few times and liked the food. However, last time were were there we had a very bad service by one of the staff. She had to say the last word out loud in front of other customers before we walked out of the restaurant. There's gonna be a while before we'll go back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mexican - with love”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hole-in-the-wall dive (wedged into a strip center dominated by Indian restaurants) offers fresh ingredients, huge portions and a friendly, made-to-order staff that lovingly serves up some tasty dishes. Try the Wet Burrito with everything. For $10, you'll be stuffed!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty Wet Burrito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had the wet burrito and asked to have it half beef half chicken it was very tasty and a good size meal. Dad had the nachos and said they were good, nothing to complain about. Corn chips were good too with a chili taste to them. Staff were friendly and the prices reasonable. I would go back again.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Halligan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FINALLY a good Mexican restaurant in Mississauga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food, great substitute if you can't drive downtown for chipotle. A bit overpriced for fast food but I don't mind!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Essra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing