We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican food north of Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Ranked #111 of 1,648 Restaurants in Mississauga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food north of Texas”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

When searching for authentic Mexican food in Ontario, look no further than Mississauga's El Sombrero.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellersbestpicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“1 bad experience turned us away”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was recommended by a few coworkers for their authentic mexican food. I visited a few times and liked the food. However, last time were were there we had a very bad service by one of the staff. She had to say the last word out loud in front of other customers before we walked out of the restaurant. There's gonna be a while before we'll go back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mexican - with love”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hole-in-the-wall dive (wedged into a strip center dominated by Indian restaurants) offers fresh ingredients, huge portions and a friendly, made-to-order staff that lovingly serves up some tasty dishes. Try the Wet Burrito with everything. For $10, you'll be stuffed!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tasty Wet Burrito”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I had the wet burrito and asked to have it half beef half chicken it was very tasty and a good size meal. Dad had the nachos and said they were good, nothing to complain about. Corn chips were good too with a chili taste to them. Staff were friendly and the prices reasonable. I would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Halligan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FINALLY a good Mexican restaurant in Mississauga”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food, great substitute if you can't drive downtown for chipotle. A bit overpriced for fast food but I don't mind!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Essra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Mississauga, Ontario
 
Mississauga, Ontario
Mississauga, Ontario
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing