We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok selection for the price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Buffett

King's Buffett
Ranked #532 of 1,043 Restaurants in London
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok selection for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

It's no Mandarin for selection or atmosphere however they did have crab legs. Food was OK if you stuck to the usual chinese takeout food, eg chicken balls, egg rolls, rice. Prime rib was good, the crab legs were good. Fresh fruit was good, the desserts were fair. If you like crab legs a buffet dinner here is about $8 less than Mandarin.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GCGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    15
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What an AMAZING place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My fiance and I drove from Windsor to London with family to run a few errands, and decided to try King's Buffet for dinner, and we didn't regret it. We arrived 45 minutes before closing, but the food was still very fresh, hot and delicious, and we didn't feel rushed at all.

We will definitely tell others about this place, and we will return anytime we are in London!

Thanks King's Buffet for a great experience! Hope to get one in Windsor sometime!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJules2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“we should have walked out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

welcome to the kings buffet with unfriendly service,dirty floors windows and food stations. The food areas was manned by two non english speaking people,who were constantley being asked for things not there. The prime rib was unrecognizable chopped into big chunky portains of overdone shoe leather,or you could have filet mignon cooked in the same manner. The crab legs were dumped into the same warm dirty water , we tried to save a few legs before being dumped into the fishy smelling merky pan. The wonton soup tasted like lysol. The dessert table was from a really bad old age home, half empty bowls of pudding. If you would like a roll please dig into the plastic bag they were purchased in and everyone had their hands in. This is NOT dining it is eating at the trough a really bad one. Bad service,unorganized in every way the only thing that would make this restaurant good , is if it closed and did everyone a favo ur. DO NOT GO The Mandarin is worth every penny, good service great clean food,constantly filled attention paid to detail. believe it is NOT at the Kings Buffet

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“The poor step sister of London Chinese buffets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife and I had a recent Sunday lunch at King's Buffet. We were promptly and courteously seated, the only ones in a large back room. We waited and waited for someone to come and take our drink orders so we could hit the buffet. We wondered aloud if anyone even knew we were there. Suddenly a door labeled "Emergency Exit and Employees Only" burst open, and several servers came in, possibly from a smoke break, and one of them approached our table. From that point, the service was prompt and courteous.

The buffet area and selection is quite small compared to other Chinese buffets in the city, although in fairness the price is significantly lower. There is a small salad bar area, and a small fruit area that includes chocolate pudding and rice pudding that look as if they came from those huge food service cans.

The hot food area features a mix of Chinese and North American food, nothing fancy or elaborate, and much of it deep fried. The restaurant was not especially busy when we arrived, but the staff seemed to have trouble keeping the serving pans filled with food. The Chinese vegetables tasted of mothballs. Some of the food, roasted potatoes and onion rings, were dried out as if by over-exposure to heat lamps.

There is a dessert section which features such delicacies as Rice Krispy squares, and squares of various store-bought cakes and brownies.

There is a fairly large and popular self-serve ice cream area. But the freezer needs some attention. The ice cream was soft tending to mushy.

When our fortune cookies arrived with the bill at the end of the meal, mine was already broken into many pieces. My wife and I had the identical fortunes. What fun is that?

We've visited this restaurant before and will go back. Service has generally been good. The manager is unfailingly polite. While the food is uninspiring, if you choose carefully, you can certainly fill your plate several times over with passable food at a comparatively low price. If price were no object, I would follow the crowds to the rich Chinese buffet in the other end of town. But since I do watch my pennies and dollars, I can settle for the King's Buffet.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

If you don't care about the location, food quality, atmosphere..... then this place is for you.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Buffett also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to King's Buffett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing