We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never really dissapoints overall”
Review of WINKS EATERY INC

WINKS EATERY INC
Ranked #182 of 1,052 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central London
London, ON
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Never really dissapoints overall”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant on a number of occasions as it is very local to me. There has never been a visit that was not enjoyed going here but wanted to take the opportunity to give it a quick review. On this particular occasion I was there for opening at 11:00am. Note the time, as the advertising outside and the website both indicate that it is 10:00am so this is important. I debated on getting breakfast, but instead opted to start with a Caesar Salad and then had the Tai Chicken wrap. The server kept my coffee full, but as it appeared she was still opening the restaurant a little inattentive at times. I had eaten half my meal, and was waiting to have it boxed up for almost 10 minutes while she counted the cash for the till. When she did finally come over, I said I wanted to take the rest to go so that I had room to eat desert. Unfortunately, instead of coming back with a desert menu as I had expected she came back with the bill. The do still keep me coming back though, as they have lots of items on the menu I like, and enjoy it even more when the patio is open. I find the interior to be very busy, and at times tacky. They are also getting more and more TV’s inside for the sports fan, so not sure if they are trying to make a change.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gandalf2520002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Non-existant service”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived at 8:00 p.m. to find the restaurant basically quiet except for one large table of approximately 15. Approached the bar directly to order our own drinks and grabbed a menu to select our dinner. After placing the menu down on the table and finishing our drinks, not one of the servers came over to us once during the 20 minutes we sat there.
The menu offered boring, predictable options and most likely would not have provided any form of appetizer or main that would've been acceptable.
I will not return and do not recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank londoner1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Wings, Great Beer”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Can't go wrong when you're drinking a litre-o-beer and downing a plate of wings. Winks is a great place to hang with friends and listen to music.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Winks is a great spot to go with a group or just for a casual date night. They have fantastic drink and food specials, which will keep me coming back. They also play most sports games and have a patio so it suits everyone in your crowd.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank heartsdesires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“does the food make up for bad service?”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We went here on a Thursday night, looking for some late evening food and drinks. I ended up tracking my own menus down after waiting far too long. When the waiter did come by for our drink orders, he failed to have any drink recommendations for my wife who wanted something "tropical or with pineapple" asking only if we wanted a drink menu. I asked what was on tap, and as he quietly rambled off the beers he looked as though he had better things to do. He brought the drinks but didn't take our food order until later. The food came quickly and was fresh and hot. I can definitely recommend the food, but the service will leave you disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WINKS EATERY INC also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to WINKS EATERY INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing