We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good service, bad food”

McGinnis Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #218 of 1,083 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I keep trying this place as it has great atmosphere and good service but it doesn't matter what I order the food is just bad...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonny & Cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caley S, Manager at McGinnis Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Sonny, thanks for your review. Customer service is a huge priority for us, so I'm glad that you think we're doing a great job. I'm sorry that you haven't enjoyed the food here. If you decide to give us another chance, try asking our servers for their suggestions. After all, they know the menu better than anyone else! Hope to see you soon. — All the best, Caley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for McGinnis Restaurant and Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We had brunch on a Sunday as a small group of 5. Service was a bit erratic, when she noticed us it was good but she'd disappear for a while and you would sit and wait. The food was average. Eggs Benedict is pretty standard. The potato hash was nicely done. No surprises and the price was reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DINKSinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caley S, Manager at McGinnis Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

DINKSinOntario, thanks for your review. We strive to provide swift service and great food, and never want a diner to leave unhappy with either. I'm happy that you loved the potato hash, but I'm sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your meal. We're always striving to improve, so your feedback means a lot to us. I hope you decide to give us a second chance. I know we have what it takes to impress you. — All the best, Caley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

McGinnis Landing is in a small strip mall in London but don't pass it by. It is very nice. The atmosphere is very modern with one side of tables and chairs and also tables with club chairs. There is a room that you can reserve that would seat about 25 ish comfortably, this is where we were. The food was excellent. Everyone enjoyed the meal they had. You can go online and see the menu. My husband had the chicken wings and ribs and he said they were the best ribs he's had in a long time. I had the Chicken Cordon Bleu which was a new item on their menu. It was very tasty, the only thing I found was it had too much of the honey mustard on it but it was easily scraped off and you may enjoy that, I don't like really spicy, so I just found it a little too much. The prices are very good, ranging from 12.95 to around 22.95, depending on what you order of course, but a very reasonable price for a nice sit down dinner to celebrate a birthday or anniversary or just because.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caley S, Manager at McGinnis Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Anne, thanks for your glowing review! We appreciate the compliments. Hearing that our food is excellent really makes my day! Good call on the Chicken Cordon Bleu. If you decide to order it again, don't hesitate to request less honey mustard. I'm happy to hear that you and all your friends enjoyed your visit. Can't wait to see you again! — All the best, Caley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were from out of town looking for a nice local place to spend with family and I figured we couldn't go wrong with McGinnis. The hostess was very friendly, helpful and accomodating. I also really liked the ambiance and homey feel to the place. Unfortunately the waitress was not as attentive as she could have been or perhaps it was the kitchen. Not sure if they were understaffed that night but it took forever for the food to come to the table. Menu was great and had lots to choose from. We ordered 3 different things off the menu but none of them was very good. We were especially disappointed since we wanted to treat my aunt to a good dinner but the food probably was not even as good as what she gets at her assisted living complex. Parking was a nightmare, I had to circle around the large lot for at least 10-15 mins hoping someone would leave so I could get a spot (likely because it is in a strip mall which was quite busy). The parking ordeal on top of the mediocre food is why I will most likely not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelsleuth99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caley S, Manager at McGinnis Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you thought of us when looking for a nice dinner, but I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. This is definitely not typical of us. We strive to provide swift service and great food, and never want a diner to leave unhappy with either. If you'd like to discuss this further, don't hesitate to reach out. If you could tell me what day you came in and the name of your waitress, we'll be able to look further into the situation so that this doesn't happen again. I hope to hear from you soon. — All the best, Caley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is my third time at this restaurant in one week! I LOVE IT!!! The food is fantastic!
The pistachio salmon with garlic mashed and veggies - YUM! Salad with steak on it - sooo good!
The soup - grandma could not do better! The Chicken quesadilla (sp?) is really good. Mel and Damien - let's just hope that they will not decide to retire anytime soon as they make the experience worth coming back for.
The decor is modern but warm. I love the central fireplace. The booths are comfortable and private. The service is attentive and efficient. This restaurant is reasonably priced and always delivers! I definitely recommend it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caley S, Manager at McGinnis Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thanks for the great review! We're so impressed (and honored) that you've come to visit us three times in one week. You sound like you're making your way through the menu. Good call on the pistachio salmon! Thanks for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again! — All the best, Caley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinnis Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to McGinnis Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing