We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a doubt it will be good”

McGinnis Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #236 of 1,048 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
London, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never a doubt it will be good”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Menu...staff attention, clean, food was supurb.
we go every 2-3 weeks and take friends.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saltshaker_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great casual dining”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Food and service is great. They have updated the restaurant and it is very nice and clean. The bar area is the spot to go after 9 pm for drinks and 1/2 price appetizers. Can't beat it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Great Decor, but a restaurant that can't make a caesar salad?”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Let me give you a step by step review so you get the whole picture.
Decor: IMPRESSIVE. Lots of stone and wood...great glass fireplaces..booths and tables.
Service: Mediocre. Melanie was not too bad and it would have been nice to have had her handle everything, but people came over to our table that seemed out of context. Mel took the order, she brought the dinks, a different person brought the food, the manager came over with water (and to discuss our complaints - I'll get to it)...Mel brought the bill, but a different waiter processed it...it was a little weird.
Pricing: I found several menu items overpriced like Chicken Pot Pie for $15...come on. Wings are overpriced as are the burgers. The rest of the menu is a little wierd with gourmet pizzas that...well, I couldn't figure out who'd order them...maybe Picasso or a surrealist.
Food: This is the bottom line...the reason we go to a restaurant. I ordered the Buffalo burger with rings and a strawberry milkshake. Excellent shake, though small by normal standards for a milkshake. The onion rings which by the way were not on the menu were the best I've ever had (get these things on the appetizer list or somewhere). The burger was a whole chicken breast of which at least half extended past the miniature bun (considering their pricing a deluxe bun would hace certainly been in order). My father wanted something light and the only thing in that category was the chicken caesar which was atrocious. How do you wreck a salad? The leaves where left whole on the plate as if the chef got distracted just as he was about to shred them. So my father basically had to do the chef's job of preparing the salad, cutting and mixing it. The chicken was overcooked, under spiced and as dry as the Mojave. He complained and they took it off the bill, but the waiter who processed the bill said, "well, it's a matter of taste." NO...this was not a close call...it was clearly an chef faux pas and regardless should have been dealt with that way.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeV57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“has come a long way”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

love the new menu, great portions, decent service.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank yojo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and adequate servcie”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Visited on a Friday for a 6PM reservation and parking was a challenge. Lot was full and it took a couple of circuits to find a spot. Restaurant was not busy so possibly an adjacent bar or nearby restaurant responsible for full lot. Spots did open fairly often as people came and went.

We were seated promptly and all staff were very pleasant.

Everyone tried a burger and all were cooked properly and arrived as ordered. Side Cesar salads were good and fries were well cooked and crisp. A bit messy to eat but good. Overall a good value.

Only quibble was wait staff was missing when we wanted to order another drink or get a refill on coffees. However, it had become much busier and possibly staff were spread a bit thin.

Definitely will try again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinsdale050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinnis Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to McGinnis Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing