We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for dinner before a play at the Grande.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tasting Room

The Tasting Room
Ranked #11 of 1,043 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central London
Description: Welcome to The Tasting Room located 2 doors from the Grand Theatre in the heart of Downtown London. The Tasting Room is both a bar and great restaurant. The ambiance is warm, casual and yet up scale. Lunch and dinner are served daily, while the extensive appetizer menu offers plenty for those who just want to nibble. Our renown "Wine Flights" offer a unique way to sample various wines!
London, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner before a play at the Grande.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't been to the Tasting Room in a while and we were not disappointed. The service was good and the food was tasty as usual. I could make a meal out of the appetizer menu and be quite happy. If you're looking for a quite place though, this is not it. It is a busy, noisy restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    114
    31
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Tasting Room has been one of my favorite restaurants in London. I have been a repeat customer for years until recently moving out of town, and opening my own dining establishment.So not getting much time for myself I was excited to finally get out and have someone else 'take care of me'.
I arrived with two close friends and my child to be greeted by one of the staff who did not look impressed to seat us. Through out the entire service each request or question seemed to be a bother to our waitress (Some blonde woman, can't remember her name...if she even told us).
Perhaps she may have been having an 'off' day, but to be rude and unpleasant to your guests is unexceptable. As an employer I wouldn't tolerate such negative behavior from staff that is supposed to be representing my establishment.
As for the food, delish as always. I will be returning but request to be served by someone else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nomnom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mouth wateringly amazing i will come many many times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

everything was perfect, from the lighting to the food it is an awesome place for a special dinner or just a night to treat you and someone you love to a well deserved quality meal. i will definitely come back here because it is now that i have been here one of my favorite places to eat in London

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in London!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We dine at the tasting room often. We are never disappointed. Like the name suggests The Tasting Room has a wonderful selection of appetizers. You can easily have a fun dining experience by sharing several appetizers. The entrees are equally delicious. The menu has something for everyone. We have done their wine flights a few times - its always fun to try 4 or 5 different wines with your meal. The atmosphere is casual and enjoyable. The music is just the right volume to allow easy conversations.You will be hard pressed to find better food in London.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rhathaway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surpassed my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I loved it from the ambiance and style of the restaurant, the flights of wine that let you try four different wines, and the appetizers for sharing with my hubby. We have been twice and had a great time both times. I highly recommend it, as a hard to please patron, they totally hit the mark. I am usually a pub style girl, it was the perfect combination of pub feel and food selection with a more upscale feel! I recommend the Ahi tuna, and the lobster poutine, but everything we had there was fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heartsdesires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to The Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing