We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay but a couple of letdowns.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay but a couple of letdowns.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I will start by saying that I was pleased overall with our stay and plan to stay there again. We stayed 2 nights while visiting relatives. This hotel is in a residential neighbourhood across from a hospital and is much quieter than other hotels right downtown or on Wellington Road South. It has ample free parking and is only 5 minutes from the downtown core making it a great location to start exploring the city. My first letdown was at check-in. I could have saved $10/night by booking through Expedia but I used their own website which offered a $25 White Oaks Mall gift card. I was told they had no record of the promotion on my reservation and the owner had to order them in and I could have one the next day. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. But here is my second letdown, the room had a strong smell from whatever cleaner or air freshener they used and upset my wife's allergies. We dropped our bags, opened a window, and went out to dinner. It was fine when we got back 4 hours later. Breakfast the next morning was my next letdown. While it was better than most it was NOT as advertised, lacking the DIY omelette bar and breakfast burritos that the website promised. It was on par with hotel breakfasts plus they had hot oatmeal and chafing dishes loaded with scrambled eggs, home fries, and link sausage. I would have enjoyed it if I hadn't been expecting a fresh omelette. After breakfast I went to the desk and asked for my gift card. A bored-looking clerk checked the computer and told me he had no record of it. Period. Full stop. I told him I had been promised one when I checked in and complained again that I used their site instead of Expedia because of that offer. He knocked $12.50/night off our bill but I don't know what was worse, the clerk who made the idle promise or the clerk who tried to ignore me hoping I would go away. The rest of our stay was uneventful. I'm surprised that other reviewers are lauding the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. My experience was a mixed bag. None of my gripes are a real deal-breaker and the overall experience was very good for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larsen_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    114
    24
    5
    14
See reviews for
168
67
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Room was very clean on arrival and the housekeeping staff was great throughout our stay. Breakfast is plentiful and varied; and the breakfast room is spacious and comfortable - a definite plus.
We were disappointed that our suite with a kitchen did not have a single utensil, just a lot of empty cupboards. For health reasons, we needed to have meals in the room, so this was an issue. Also, there was no table or chairs to eat at - just a big empty space where I am assuming they used to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Don't hesitate to stay at this hotel. It is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. The accommodation is very good - rooms are clean (saw the housekeeping staff on their knees scrubbing the bathroom floor), quiet. It is very close to the London Victoria & Children's Hospital (5-min walk). There is a small fitness room & indoor pool. A hot breakfast is served which includes hot/cold cereal, eggs, toast, bagels, sweet buns, muffins, fruit, yogurt. The staff bent over backwards for me and also made my friends welcome when waiting for me. If you are staying because a loved one is at the hospital there is a lower $$ rate (very good value). A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great Hotel to stay in. Lots of parking, Great friendly service and the home made cookies up front were top notch. Great touch. Room was clean and very spacious. Value was fair. Nothing to complain much about. Country Inn is a solid pick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexLuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayec for 4 days. Staff was awesome. They were helpful, courteous, friendly and went out of their way if anything was needed. The housekeeping was great. The hot breakfast was wonderful and included. I will recommend your hotel. I usually do not write reviews but I feel like the whole staff needs to be acknowledge due to my wonderful stay. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinBal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with my family for one night. The staff were really friendly, rooms were clean and of reasonable size and the internet was fast. Overall it' s nice cozy hotel..though not the cheapest alternative.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Londonerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Westminster
TownePlace Suites London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON
Address: 774 Base Line Rd E, London, Ontario N6C 2R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites London South
Country Inn & Suites London South Hotel London
Country Inn London South
London Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, London South, ON Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing