We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were not completely happy with our stay. The room was...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn London
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in London
Merlin
1 review
“We were not completely happy with our stay. The room was...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were not completely happy with our stay. The room was clean but cold, didn't know we had to turn the heat on manually until later at night so took a while to warm the room up. No tissues in room, no cups for coffee, and the beds were very firm(but we did get used to that, but would of rather not such a firm mattress. The hallway smelled of smoke, and the room above us had a very loud party till about 3:30am. Breakfast was very basic, should of had fruit and yogurt as well. Staff was friendly, but for the price, I expected a bit more!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    93
    105
    39
    50
See reviews for
99
80
38
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Got stuck in London because of a bad snow storm. It was snowing, windy, -35C with the windchill and many surrounding roads were closed. Forced to take what we could get as most places we called were booked solid.

Walked into the Howard Johnson and started booking a room. It's HoJo right? Big name. How bad could it be?

First off we were asked if we only wanted the room for a couple hours or all night?? What the hell? I am pretty sure my wife didn't look like a prostitute. We were then asked to pay for the room and then after we completed that we were asked to place a cash deposit? As if that wasn't odd enough they seemed confused that why anyone wouldn't leave a cash deposit (we didn't have enough cash on us as we hadn't planned on staying). Tried to pay with debit and told that they don't accept debit as payment? Had to give them our visa again.

We were given the key for our "non smoking" room and proceeded to head down to it. We opened the door to the unmistakable smell of stale cigarette smoke. We walked in and immediately saw an ashtray on the table and the window open (the room was freezing and even with the fresh cold air still reeked of stale smoke). I returned to the front desk to clarify that this was a non smoking room and was told yes it was. I had the desk attendant return to the room with me to show her so we didn't get an unwarranted smoking charge in this so called non smoking room. She came down and tried to tell us the smell was coming in the open window from outside. I pointed out the ashtray and she tried to say the maid just must have made a mistake. After she left it got even worse. We started looking for the TV remote (which we never did find) and opened the nightstand drawer. In it we found a pile of cigarette ashes and a cigarello butt or a marijuana roach (it was hard to tell). Everywhere in the room had cigarette burns including the every piece of furniture (tables, nightstands, bed headboards, chairs) and even the carpet, fridge and microwave. I grabbed the ice bucket to go get ice and underneath were cigarette ashes.

I went back to the desk to report the disgusting state of the room and that we found the origin of the stale cigarette smell and all I got was "oh ok". No offer to change rooms, no offer of a discount or even an apology. We had nowhere else to go.

Returning to the room it got worse and worse. Mold and mildew on the sink. Electrical outlets with no cover plates, ripped up carpeting, duct tape holding the bed skirts together and a security latch on the door that was half hanging off and didn't even catch when the door was opened. I am sure it got worse but was too afraid to turn on more lights for fear we wouldn't be able to sleep.

By this time it was well past midnight and we were exhausted. We had no choice but to try to sleep. After it taking hours for the heater to get the room comfortable we managed to get a few hours sleep before needing to head out. We couldn't even bring ourselves to shower there or eat the free continental breakfast. If the room was that bad, how safe was the food? We rolled out of bed. Got dressed and left as quickly as possible.

We went to check out and lo and behold found another irate patron at the desk complaining of finding urine stains on their bed sheets. They must have been refused a refund because they told us they were planning on losing their payment for the second night because they couldn't bring themselves to stay there again.

We complained about how horrible everything was and the desk clerk told us the owners refused to maintain the building even after other complaints. No apology though. The other irate patron even spoke up and said "you could at least pretend like you care and apologize".

If it wasn't -35C out and a blizzard we would have rather slept in the car or on a park bench. I wouldn't stay in this place again if they were paying me to do so. I only have this place 1/5 stars because you can't give 0/5 or less.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lytefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Chatham
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Garbage under beds, as well as food left in fridge from previous guests.. Tiny little bar of soap for shower in the morning, not enough for 2 adults and 2 children. The continental breakfast included of coffee tea, warm orange juice , bread for toast and waffle batter.. None of which were any good and was never enough available at any given point..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Close to 401, construction work outside but at least wasn't disruptive. Would have liked more beverage food choices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our room was spacious even with pull out bed in use. There was a fridge and microwave as well as coffee maker in the room. Clean. Vishay, the front desk clerk was friendly and very helpful. There are 2 floors but no elevator. Breakfast minimal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckys3624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Days Inn London
Days Inn London
#23 of 41 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Westminster
Quality Suites London
Quality Suites London
#19 of 41 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Ramada London
#22 of 41 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#28 of 41 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn London

Property: Howard Johnson Inn London
Address: 738 Exeter Rd, London, Ontario N6E 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn London 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn London Hotel London
Howard Johnson London
Howard Johnson Hotel London
Howard Johnson Inn London Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing