We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the real deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congee Chan

Congee Chan
Ranked #53 of 1,043 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

For anyone who has eaten in that ubiquitous small town Chinese restaurant that serves Chinese-Canadian dishes, this is not for you!

Congee is the word for rice porridge, a humble dish that was fed to the elderly or infirm when they were not feeling well. The high content of liquid in congee was meant to be restorative. Congee is comfort food that these days has become a gourmet dish that is souped up with lobster, tilapia, beef, and you name it!

I am reluctant about eating in Chinese-Canadian restaurants and avoid them when I am outside of larger cities. Congee Chan is a spacious restaurant that is designed in that upscale nouveau Asian decor that one finds in so many new restaurants these days.

The food is incredibly good and the portions are huge! We had the shrimp with Maggi sauce which is kind of a sweet and sour flavouring. Beef with tung choi (a Chinese green). The crispy skin chicken is a good indication of how skilled the kitchen is. This dish is like a roasted chicken but tastier and juicier because it is flash fried. And then there was the fried rice--delicious even though I prefer having steamed rice to go with main dishes.

Lots of Londoners were eating here on a Monday night! Lots of Chinese clientele as well as non Chinese who appreciate a delicious meal at bargain prices.

Be prepared to order one dish per person in your party in order to have variety in your meal. Be prepared too to take some of the left overs home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Place to go for chinese in london”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is one of the better chinese restaurant in london. Reminds me of the chinese restaurants in the greater Toronto area.

Service is a bit slow. All the servers speak english which is awesome.

Food is affordable and portion sizes are plenty. One of the few chinese places in london that has a large selection of congee. Dont be confused with the name, there are plenty of other chinese food items on the menu!


Helpful?
Thank linh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Loved it! We came 18 of us for a birthday and had a great experience. The round tables are very comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious and the price was great too

Helpful?
1 Thank smeep99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have lived in Hong Kong, China, Thailand, and Singapore. In all those places I could readily get delicious Chinese food. After trying a couple of other Chinese restaurants here in London, I can honestly say that Congee Chan is the best Chinese food I have had outside of Asia. The atmosphere inside the restaurant is really good; you feel like you are in Hong Kong. The servers are nice, but a couple of them struggle with English.

I should also mention that it's not very expensive and the food quality is always consistent. My compliments to the owners and chefs!

Well done, Congee Chan!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinaFencesitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic oriental cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Went here for the first time with friends who had recommended the place.....lovely clean, vibrant interior and packed full with oriental locals! We were well seated, with amazingly fast, courteous service and friendly smiles everywhere.
The food selection is over the top, almost too much to take in on the first visit, but so impressed with the quality, the presentation and the speed and freshness of everything we ordered!
Look forward to returning soon.....pricing and quantity is amazing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congee Chan also viewed

 
London, Ontario
London, Ontario
 

Been to Congee Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing