We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECOND CHANCE WAS WORTH IT!”
Review of Blu Duby

Blu Duby
Reserve with OpenTable
Blu Duby is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,053 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Malaysian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located inside a beautiful heritage building with entrance off of 125 Dundas St and Covent Market Lane. 30 Second walk to the Budweiser Gardens. Exposed brick walls and solid maple bar add to the casual elegance you will find inside the Blu Duby. We are adjoining the Hotel Metro, a lovely boutique hotel with 20 rooms. In summer time we have a patio on Dundas St. Large appetizer menu available for
London, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“SECOND CHANCE WAS WORTH IT!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

When Blu Duby first opened I wasn't overly impressed, especially by our server, but always wanted to try it again based on their menu selection and the fact that we knew Joe from his Waldo's days. Good decision! Service was prompt and paced well. The menu selections were very appealing and I had a hard time making a decision. I order the appetizer lamb chops and they were tender and flavourful. My friend and I split the Caesar salad and the shrimp spring rolls and our plates were empty. My friend also had the steak for the entrée and ate every bite. Had the crème brulle for dessert and devoured it! Overall a great experience and I would highly recommend this restaurant. Joe and Cheryl and the staff and chefs are amazing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Owner at Blu Duby, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
I can't tell you how much we appreciate you coming and trying again! Over the past 18 months we have taken to heart all the feedback we have received. We are constantly making changes that will help us to get closer to our goal of becoming consistently remarkable. We still make mistakes some days, but we will always do everything in our power to correct them. It is with the support of great customers like yourself that we get better everyday. Thank-you again,

Joe and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    152
    66
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Do not attend, poor service - but great food and location!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Food was amazing.
Service was the worst.
Dining area is beautiful.
Joe, the owner is super kind.
Area, although no parking is great.
Blu Duby would get POOR, but everything else brings to Average.
This place does deserve an Excellent, mind you.
Hire better staff, who care for your customers.
All the best, Cassandra.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Owner at Blu Duby, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Cassandra,

We are so sorry to hear you had a poor service experience. We pride ourselves in our service team and we would really like to get to the bottom of this. Please contact us so we can determine who the server was and take appropriate action. We understand that going to a restaurant is about the entire experience and service is such a huge part of that. We would like to invite you back as our guest and prove to you we are worth a second chance.
We appreciate that you took the time to do a review. Without feedback we may never know this situation occurred and would be unable to take steps to coach our staff.

Cheryl and Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blu Duby Did Not Disappoint”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We wanted to take out-of-town relatives to a good restaurant in downtown London. We initially gave them the choice of a "bar" setting close to their hotel or a longer walk to the Blu Duby -a little higher priced, but a restaurant we had really enjoyed in the past. When we described the variety of ethnic dishes on the menu, and the possibility of just appetizers, they chose the Blu Duby. There was construction close to their front door- I was a little worried that they might not be open. The owner welcomed us in and assured us of a table immediately. We all ended up having main course selections from the chef's recommendations for the evening. All wonderful. Wine great. Service friendly and professional. A nice walk downtown on a warm October evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Owner at Blu Duby, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
To be trusted with out of town guests is a huge compliment. Thank-you! We are so glad they enjoyed themselves. We have grown the business through referrals so each one is very valuable and we appreciate it.

The good news is construction is almost completely finished and we have the lovely Fanshawe College building, gleaming and new, right next door. We are very excited to see downtown London continue to transform itself.

Thank-you.

Joe and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner for 7 couples”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed dinner at Blu Duby on January 4th all 14 of us. Our group gets together once a year and this year we decided to get together at Blu Duby. Meals seemed to be enjoyed by all - we had fun. One negative was a forgotten dessert but other than that small glitch dinner was very good and servers made us feel right at home. Thanks, Blu Duby

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“london ontario E. I.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant is amazing. Went there in December with 14 close friends and everyone agreed that our food and service was superb! This is my second visit to BLU DUBY and I will defineately go again and would recommend this to clients and friends. Thanks for a great night out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank triptime2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Duby also viewed

 

Been to Blu Duby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing