We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely wooded park”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westminster Ponds

Westminster Ponds
Ranked #18 of 80 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely wooded park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Lovely wooded park surrounding 3 large ponds/ small lakes in South end of London. Trails sufficient for an hour or two of walking or 40+ min run ( some creativity required to connect smaller loops of trail).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_London_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Will revisit but bring water with us next time. Did not realize what a big area it covered? Only thing we found a problem was some people with dogs unleashed. Overall a great experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent two hours walk the trails about Saunders Pond and Tumbleson Pond within the area. Unlike some other reviewers, I found the trails well marked with yellow patches on trees. A current map is available from the Tourist INformation centre at the entrance off Wellington. The trails are earth or boardwalk so can be muddy but were mostly dry when I visited. I went in mid morning mostly to wonder and take photos. I plan a later visit during the fall for fall colours. May would be great for birds. I saw some but no unusual or migrating species. There is a pdf map available on-line which is what I used. It isn't 100% to scale but worked for me. One note is that at point 2 on the map one has to walk on a portion of paved road to finish the loop about Saunders Pond. The map sort of implies it is regular trail and the Tourist map implies there is no connection

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“westminister ponds”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

on july the 15th 2013 i went to westminister ponds.i did not enjoy it too much because the dirt paths were so muddy you had to just walk on the side of the path for the whole way,not to exiting.also i did not get to see much wild life other then fish,frogs and a load of disgusting bugs,ewwwwwww!although if you have a small boat or raft you might want to consider fishing in their huge pond.also if you are gonna come here you might as well wear rubber boots.if you come here you might want to bring a camera like me because you might spot something interesting, and then want to catch it on tape.it is a good place for walks(when paths are dry!)because of the 11km trail including 200 hectares of trails and wildlife.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loose dogs mar vist”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you bring your dog with you to the ponds, beware of unleashed dogs. I have seen 3 dobermans several times with no owner in site. How unfair to the rest of us! Also the signage is really bad, so bring your GPS.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadian_Travel_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westminster Ponds also viewed

 

Been to Westminster Ponds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing