We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time”
Review of The Works

The Works
Ranked #26 of 1,053 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was the first time we had the works. It was a Great burger joint, tonnes of selection including some very unusual burger toppings. Staff was awesome, friendly and fast. Large portions ! Definitely would return !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisablag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    25
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“BIG BURGER SPECIALTY”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

There are so many ways to serve a burger and the Works knows them all. big servings lots of fries and drinks in mason jars. great location near London Market & Budweiser Gardens.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GREATFUN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Always a good burger”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was my second time at The Works chain, the first being in the Ottawa area. Man, what a great selection of burgers. If you have never been and are a burger fan this is a place that you need to try. It will take you 15mins just to read over what they offer. You can select your patty type and the toppings they have are incredible. They are a bit on the pricey side for a burger but the quality and selection are worth the price. I will be looking for this chain in every place that I travel to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant Enough Place To Eat For Vegetarians”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been here plenty of times, mostly to quickly stop in for the awesome vegetarian poutine! My boyfriend and I are huge fans of getting poutine to go from here. We are not fans of the obnoxious atmosphere so don't like to stay there to eat. We have both gotten different variations of toppings on veggie burgers, but it definitely seems the toppings do not cater to vegetarians. The veggie burger they use is a beef substitute type burger and it is one of my least favourites I have ever tried at a restaurant. It tastes like it's a low quality frozen from the box brand. I have had many better veggie burgers frozen from the box made myself. The last time I got a veggie burger there was my last - I got it as a takeout order and by the time I ate it, which could not have been more than 25 minutes since it was made, it had pretty much melted. It was completely soggy and crumbling, when I took a bite it tasted like total mush. I was only able to stomach two bites before I threw it out. So for vegetarians visiting The Works I highly recommend the poutine, but beware of the quality of the veggie burgers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burger emporium”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I found it hilarious to visit Relish's in Worley village before it finally closed down because it was a carbon copy of The Works. The smorgasbord of selections and custom building of burgers is still found at The Works.

The perceived flexibility of having multiple burger selections is blunted due to massive confusion. Ask yourself this: how many times have people in your party felt like they were able to make a choice without having to study the burger list like a whacked-out multiple choice exam.

That being said, the burgers can be excellent and they generally cook meat patties with plenty of moistness to spare. Hipsters will serve you with their ironic haircuts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Works also viewed

 

Been to The Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing