We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mix of Music to Enjoy”
Review of Orchestra London

Orchestra London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: London, Ontario's professional Orchestra since 1957. Orchestra London performs over 50 concerts every year, including everything from Beethoven to the Beatles, to music for young children. Music Director, Alain Trudel, is in his third season with the orchestra and is conducting some fabulous programs this year. The 2013/2014 lineup will include amazing performances by Angela Cheng, Frederique Vezina, Guy Few, Sarah Slean, Matt Dusk, and many more!
Small City, Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Mix of Music to Enjoy”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I subscribed for several years, but find the drive too far so have switched to Waterloo. Orchestra London is to be congratulated for offering a variety of music, form 20th Century challenge to Pop to Bach. Centennial Hall has poor acoustics and a crowd that gets too participatory for my taste, but the various church settings are great.

Helpful?
1 Thank GEMSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Andre - the Music Director makes it.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The orchestra was fun, the music good and the Music Director made the whole thing most enjoyable. The concert we attended seemed to have a few insturments short due to the Christmas season with several musicians elsewhere - but just great

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank raggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent way for students to hear excellent music”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I bought a student bottomless pass for the orchestra earlier this year. For $65 dollars I was able to go to every show and get the best seating they had available. The first show I went to with my girlfriend and we got front row balcony seats 25 feet back. It was amazing. I highly recommend this for students who are looking for a great date idea with their significant other. The orchestra is extremely skilled, and if you arrive an hour early the conductor holds a pre-show talk in which he discusses the pieces they will be playing. This is a must for anyone who appreciates music and the skill involved in playing it. 10/10

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Always enjoyed going to the orchestra. No longer go because of the constant phone calls to renew subscription. Drove me nuts. Asked them not to call, enjoyed the concers and would make my own reservations because my husband was often on call and changing reservations was a hastle. The did not stop so no longer go. They obviously did not understand that we could live without spending the money on concerts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lovtodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

enjoyed every concert i've attended, even when the sits weren't the best the music was.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kadee_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchestra London also viewed

 

Been to Orchestra London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing