We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise with tab” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dancing Greek Taverna - CLOSED

Dancing Greek Taverna
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprise with tab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited Dancing Greek for the 3rd time, and was pleased with the Greek dishes. Greek food prepared well in an unassuming atmosphere. My only concern was the lack of wine list, so a Greek wine was recommended by the waitress. Although the wine complimented well, and was enjoyed, I was somewhat surprised by the price of $14 per glass. This is not the environment that I would expect that price level.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SRK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a great meal and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My mother and I visited this restaurant just this evening (July 17th, 2013) and loved it!

She had never had Greek food before, and since it was my birthday, I got to pick where we ate. Went on to Tripadvisor and saw all the positive reviews so I decided we would give it a try. They were right!

We were immediately greeted by Tyler when we sat down, he got us some ice water which was very welcome on such a hot day, and told us the specials. He had a couple good recommendations and my mother settled on Pork Souvlaki which I'm happy to say she loved. I had the Gyro Pita which was excellent.

At first we sat in the front section of the restaurant, not realizing there was a back room, but once we found it, we were invited to move, which we were glad we did. The back is painted with beautiful murals and dimmer lighting with some nice Greek music playing in the background.

In the end, the food was terrific, the service from Tyler was even better and that made my birthday complete!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielKOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went on a Tuesday night and enjoyed their BBQ lamb special. The recommended Greek wine was a good pairing. Had a flaming cheese appetizer that was quite a dramatic presentation (lit on fire tableside) and very yummy. For dessert the toblerone cheesecake was delicious and they had good brewed decaf coffee. All in all, a very nice meal with good service (thanks Tyler!) in a nice restaurant. When you first enter, you walk through the old diner. We initially didn't realize that you need to walk through this area to get to the nice restaurant in behind. If I hadn't read the good reviews on trip advisor, I might not have ventured in, but was really glad we did! Note that they close quite early on Tuesday night - 9pm - but we felt free to sit and chat while we finished our dessert, even though it was after closing time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuckchaldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“BETTER LAST TIME”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Okay, the Ceasar salad is incredible. Zero complaints. We came for the POUTINE. HUGE letdown. Owner stated they no longer make fresh cut fries. Frozen ones now. It has brought an increidble poutine, down to a run of the mill one. Sorry, the gravy doesn't mask the frozen yuckiness. He said he's going back to fresh cut fries. Call to make sure, before you order. Have to admit, it was disappointing. This poutine is "forgettable".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whitepaw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

As a frequent visitor to London this is a place that we always enjoy dining. I am not a chain restaurant admirer rather I love family owned places. This restaurant is definetly family owned from being met at the door from Jimmy the original owner, to the next generation of Effie and Ross and the newest generation of Elia and Zack this is a hands on family restaurant. The food is the best in all of London. Make a trip and I promise you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Greek Taverna also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing