We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming a favourite place!”
Review of The Springs

The Springs
Ranked #51 of 1,053 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A great mix of cuisine from all over the world. Fantastic menu!
London, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Becoming a favourite place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had previously been to The Springs for lunch, and this was the first time I'd been there for dinner. The food is excellent, innovative and beautifully presented. The wine list is extensive with several very nice wines available by the glass. I started with a mushroom, onion and chorizo tart. The flavours melded amazingly and the pastry was light and buttery. It was rather large, though, so I was not that hungry when my main course arrived! Grilled scallops with smoked trout on a risotto cake...lovely. I had no room for dessert, but one of my colleagues had a flourless chocolate cake that was fantastic: surprisingly light and full of rich chocolate flavour. Our table had an excellent Cali cab sav and a delightful NZ sauv blanc to accompany the food. The service was very friendly and prompt. The atmosphere is terrific...the building used to be a church, and they've done a great job in designing a bistro- style feel to the place. They do their best to source their food locally, so it's all fresh. The dinner menu was a bit pricey, but I will definitely come back here for both lunch and dinner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Relaxed59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    50
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Thought the food was terrible and over priced. Not enough staff working so the service was very slow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilla, Australia
2 reviews
“Adult get together”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A wonderful experience. From the moment we walked in they were attentive taking our coats offering drinks at the bar while we waited for our table. The restaurant was busy but enjoyable. The atmosphere was very unique a true dining experience that sets it apart from chain restaurants. The building is an old church that has been renovated and is one big open room that gives the feeling of comfortable dining. It is enjoyable to see the presentation of other guests meals because they are so beautifully displayed. When you walk by the kitchen and see the fresh herbs waiting to be used for your meal you realize the care that goes into preparing your meal. The piano player was fabulous and one of the owners also played the guitar and sang. It truly was a night out that was unique and the food was fabulous. If you love food go, you will not be disappointed.
Patti Gibbs Gould

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent place!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is casual dining with great food. Nicely presented seasonal meals. We both had seafood, probably the best we ever had in this landlocked city. The onion soup was terrific. The sorbet was excellent. We topped it off with my latte and my wife's tea. Price before tip just under $100
The staff was friendly, answered all our questions, brought extra bread. We went early ( 5 pm) without a reservation and were treated like royalty. Definitely would go again for a special occasion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good food, wonderful desserts; very friendly staff. A bit loud, otherwise nice setting. Perch was very nice and lemon dessert was light, tart and scrumptous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Springs also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to The Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing