We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Wood with Peter Katz”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aeolian Hall

Aeolian Hall
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Arva, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Royal Wood with Peter Katz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was by far the best concert we have attended at the Aeolian Hall. Royal gets better each time.
Peter Katz's opening segment was fantastic and was a perfect match for a Royal Wood concert.
Royal's repertoire gets more extensive and varied over time making the concert a very enjoyable medley of both older favorites and new material.
He loves playing in London and rewarded his fans with a concert that ran almost 3 hours including Peter Katz's opener and some shared selections with Peter.
Royal appeared much more at ease and shared some of the personal times behind some of the music. It was great to see him so relaxed and enjoying life as a performer. The same goes for Peter Katz as well as the backing musicians. It was clear that they were having a great time performing. The music just seemed to flow effortlessly. We had seats about 10 feet from the stage making it an incredibly intimate concert where you could literally experience the music with the musicians.
It was a fantastic Valentine's evening.
We would rate this a "6 out of 5" if we could!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“SUPERB!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We had our 1st visit to the Aeolian Hall last night to see Malian artist Habib Koite. What a fantastic venue to see acoustic based music! A small hall that sits about 300 people, on the 2nd floor of a 130 year old building on Dundas St. East, close by the Western Fairgrounds. Last night for Habib and his band there were only about 200 people (come on London! What's wrong with you people? We drove 3 hours to see this amazing world renowned artist!!), so the balcony was closed and main floor seating was set up 'cafe' style, which was a pleasant surprise creating a very casual atmosphere. The acoustics? Well, superb. Run mostly by volunteers, they were very inviting and courteous. Will we be back? Without question!

Helpful?
Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ten Mile, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, and welcoming Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Attended a great performance of my old friends of Enter the Haggis. This is a wonderful theater but the staff, volunteers, and new friends made the experience amazing! Cheers and thank you for making this Tennessean feel so welcome!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Christmas Music Concert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a very old hall in London, now used for a variety of activities connected with the arts. 8 of us went to listen to Christmas Carols presented by 3 students of music at London University. The concert was excellent and the ambience pleasant. Made the mistake of buying a bottle of wine ( as we were seated Cabaret-Style)......at $40 for a bottle of mediocre wine?!!! Do not advise this, folks, stick to water!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuppenny42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Aeolian Hall in London Ontario is a must-go place if you love music and culture. The venue is small; the hall is beautifully restored; the acoustics are fantastic; the focus is on the community; and the people are warm and welcoming. A wide range of performers from around the world pass through these doors weekly, making incredible music. The fact that volunteers are totally responsible for the running of Aeolian Hall gives an immediate sense of community ownership. You will become a regular here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aeolian Hall also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to Aeolian Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing