We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent venues”
Review of Aeolian Hall

Aeolian Hall
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent venues”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It is a gem in London. Far from teh junk music scene Aeolian Hall provides quality music and excellent service for the patrons. Volunteers are great and the program is very good.
Thank you for being a part of London!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chubchub2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“always a great time!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is truly a performer's treasure and a patron's delight!- amazing acoustics, elevated stage, classic decor, and an attentive audience. I have never been disappointed in the quality of the varied performers and groups that have come here. As in other revues, the atmosphere is warm and intimate. Beverages can be purchased and can be consumed during the show.
I enjoy the wide variety of offerings too: from folk (eg.Judy Collins, Nathan Rogers), comedy (Elvira Kurt, a fundraiser for VAW program), classical concerts of every type, International/World music (eg. Dhoad Gypsies of Rajasthan), etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank olddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cool venue”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Attended to see Broadsway show and was so pleasantly surprised by the venue. Great acoustics and laid back and intimate vibe. It's very civilized to be able to get a glass of wine and a cheese plate to enjoy at a table while you watch the show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank klashToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerwood
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A London Treasure”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been to the Aeolian Hall many times for concerts and have always experienced wonderful sound in a warm intimate atmosphere. The quality of artists that are attracted to this venue are amazing. I have just heard Kelly Lee Evans but have also heard concerts by Elizabeth Shepherd and Laila Baili.
It is a real community music hall with a great vibe!
It is truly a London institution that keeps on getting better and more connected with the city and it's own neighbourhood. I just wish I had more time to go to concerts!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CycleChic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“An intimate performing arts gem”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Aeolian Hall is built on the beautifully restored second floor of the old East London firehall. The acoustics are superb, and you are up-close and personal with the performers. The playbill runs heavily to folk, jazz, Latin, and African music, but many other genres appear from time to time. We have enjoyed every concert we have attended here.

The staff, mainly arts-loving volunteers, are friendly and helpful. A small bar offers wine, draught and bottle beer, and soft drinks.

Free parking is available across the street in a kitchen supply company parking lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aeolian Hall also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to Aeolian Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing