We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great sound and character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aeolian Hall

Aeolian Hall
Ranked #12 of 80 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great sound and character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I've seen lots of shows here, and it is really one of London's little treasures. It's at it's best seeing bands that are on the acoustic side (or at least aren't too loud). Dan Mangan did his encore totally un-amped to take advantage of the wonderful acoustics. I love this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonOnttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing but noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our group of ten went to hear Lauren Mann and her band. The first warm-up act (man on guitar and female singer), were so over-amplified we could barely make out one word in their several songs. This was pointed out to the sound man prior to the second warm-up group, which was a 4-person band. They were even more extremely amplified, such that it was almost painful to listen to them, and again we could not make out the words to their songs. Clearly the sound man took no corrective action, or maybe even upped the wattage.

The Aeolian Hall is far too small a hall for any instrumental amplification, and probably even for amplifying a singer. Only acoustic instruments should be permitted in this venue.

We could not stand the noise and left before the second warm-up group finished, so we did not get to hear the main attraction.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

On the small side, but very nicely decorated. The volunteers were very nice, and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kruger Brothers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Awesome show in a very cool venue. The acoustics were very good and the hall was big enough and small enough at the same time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingTreeFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Storybook Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I Liked Storybook Gardens Amusement Theme Park Coming To Brantford And I'm Going To Have So Much Fun And I Disliked Twin Valley Zoo Park

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aeolian Hall also viewed

 
London, Ontario
 

Been to Aeolian Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing