We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three visits and all disappointed”
Review of Ben Thanh

Ben Thanh
Ranked #502 of 1,052 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Sweet Thai Red Curry in a coconut cream sauce.
Komoka
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Three visits and all disappointed”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

SInce opening the place has gone downhill. The food is nothing special. Not fresh and the room to the left of the entrance is so dark you can't see what you are eating. We tried eating outside and the tables were peeling their finish and chairs rickety

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank katharineb705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mein S, General Manager at Ben Thanh, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback of your three visits to Mein Street from 2010 to November 2012. We have tried to find the records of your complaints but were unable to locate them due the amount of time that has past and the lack of dates provided. We hope you had shared your feedback with your server during those times and they were able to rectify the concerns you had.

Our food is made fresh to order and we spend a great deal of effort to get the best quality ingredients for our dishes. We are sorry the patio furniture did not suit you but we hope your server was able to seat you at another table. Our commercial patio furniture is maintained and cleaned on a daily basis. At the beginning of each patio season, we evaluate which tables and chairs will have to be replaced. Unfortunately, the ground on which our furniture is placed on is not always even and the movement of the chairs and tables is caused by the unevenness.

We are always grateful for customer’s feedback regardless of when they are sent in. Our goal is to provide great service, value and experience for our customers. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to re-train and re-examine our level of service, quality of food and the overall experience we provide. Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience. If you want to reach us directly, please contact us at info@meinstreet.ca or 519-433-6346. It would give us a chance to better investigate your concerns. Thank you again for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    19
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The decor is lovely and the staff are efficient and courteous.
However, the food was very disappointing. My bill before tax was $96.00, to feed 4 of us with no dessert nor beverage, or alcohol.
I would expect textures and flavours like this from a food court in a mall. The price was in keeping with the decor, but certainly not the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mein S, General Manager at Ben Thanh, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We would like to thank you for your feedback from your last visit to Mein Street and for the compliments about our décor and staff. We are sorry that you were disappointed by the prices of our dishes. We make great efforts to keep the prices of all our dishes at $13.95 or lower. This would be considered very reasonable for our category of restaurant by industry standards. Our calculations indicate you had spent $24.00 per entrée. Please let us know if the $24 include appetizers as well? We want investigate this matter thoroughly and adjust any incorrect pricing in our computer system. We are sorry the dishes you ordered did not suit your preference. We hope you shared your feedback with your server so he/she was able to pass your opinions to the management team and the chefs. We change our menu about four times a year. This allows us to leave in-demand dishes on the menu and remove dishes that are not popular. Feedback from our customers play a large role in designing our menu.

We document all feedback from our customers on a daily basis. If you can provide us with the date of your visit, we would be able to look into it further and investigate how your feedback was received. Please contact us directly at info@meinstreet.ca or 519-433-6346 if you would like to further discuss your experience. Our goals is to provide great service, value and overall dining experience. We wish for the opportunity to thoroughly investigate any areas where we have fallen short. Once again thank you for taking the time to express your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really disappointed.
Did not finished half of it.
I wont go there twice.
Service is great but food is crap

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank londener11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

we went in with my kids for an early (before) christmas dinner. first time in for them, second for linda and i. based on the previous time linda and i went in, we ordered two of the wasabi calamari. they were just as good this time - everyone dug in and enjoyed. linda ordered the coconut chicken soup, and loved it. huge bowl. she ended up taking most of it home. and the pad thai - again, most of which went home and got eaten the next day i ordered the tom yum - delicious. spicy enough, flavourful broth, and lots of shrimp. and the spicy thai basil beef. very good. kids ordered: pho sirloin (truly a full meal), butter chicken, and cashew chicken. all were very pleased with the meal, and ate the leftovers next day. when they're in town again, we will very likely be back to try a few different things. but the wasabi calamari is the standard appetizer for us.
service was quick and helpful.
a very good meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank extoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stopped for lunch while shopping in Masonville area. Asian fusion food and decor. What a pleasant surprise . Food and Service were excellent. I would go back.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DianaLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Thanh also viewed

London, Ontario
London, Ontario
 
London, Ontario
London, Ontario
 

Been to Ben Thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing