We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has terrible acoustics and an ugly interior.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Budweiser Gardens

Budweiser Gardens
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place has terrible acoustics and an ugly interior.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I am not the only person who lives in London who dislikes the John Labatt Centre . I have some London friends who feel this way too. They do bring in some good shows occasionally, but the venue is unattractive on the inside. It's a hockey arena after all. The acoustics are worse than dreadful (which matters quite a lot during musical performances). People sit and eat and drink beer during the ballet and they talk over top of classical music. If you are someone who likes a touch of beauty, culture, and class, you will not get it at the John Labatt Centre. The outside isn't too bad however. I suppose the place serves a purpose, but I avoid it as much as possible.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    132
    36
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well situated venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I loved the downtown location, which was an easy walk from our hotel. The arena is smaller than larger venues in Toronto and Ottawa so the seats are all quite good. I disliked the rude T-shirt hawkers!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank thirdroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Modern Attractive Clean and Inviting"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I wish more sport complexes were designed the way the John Labatt Centre is designed. Easy to get around modern and inviting.

My wife and I were at the centre to see the Moody Blues. Though this is the home of the London Knights the acoustics were O.K. for the concert.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jefferonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Something always going on at the John Labatt Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The John Labatt Centre is a multi-purpose facility which provides a venue for entertainment purposes and sports.

The JLC is essentially an arena which hosts many sporting events such as hockey, wrestling, skating shows etc etc.

On the entertainment side it is a great venue for concerts, theatre, and even hosts the odd monster truck show. if you wish to travel in from out of town and stay the night. The J.L.C is located in downtown London within walking distance of some well known hotels. The J.L.C seats 9,090 for hockey and ice events and over 10,000 for concerts, family shows and other events. The facility has 1,100 premium club seats, 38 private luxury suites and 5 Group Sales Suites.

The J.L.C was designed to accommodate touring Broadway shows. The theatre setting has the ability to seat 2800 people,

The John Labatt Centre is the home of the 2005 Memorial Cup Champions, Junior “A” hockey team, The London Knights.

Check out the John Labatt Centre web site for the up to date event calendar and plan on a stay in the fabulous Forest city !!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbean_breezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budweiser Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Budweiser Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing