We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 5, 2011

This has what you want in a place to stay for a business trip. The room was spacious and equipped with modern and useful furnishings: LCD TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, robe, free wireless internet, newspaper. Everything is well thought-out and attractive - similar to a Courtyard Marriott. The staff are helpful and poilite. The complimentary breakfast includes hot and cold items. There are restaurants nearby and the area is pleasant. All the high end hotels in London are in the immediate area and a short walk takes you to the heart of downtown. The heat system is quiet and the double windows keep out street noise. I'd say that this is the best place to stay in this city if you don't choose to be near the highway, There are no hotels close to UWO near the town.

Room Tip: Face south for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesson_learned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 309 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

The room was right at the elevator and seemed to be a quick choice for having booked in advance by two weeks. Very cramped room but bed was very comfortable. It was about 8-9 blocks from the Labattes Center where the show was and we were able to walk it. Nice restaurant across the road.

Room Tip: Booked a room well in advance of our travel dates but seemed to get a sudden choice which was small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario_Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here on a Friday night in October 2011. Check in was a breeze. Polite, friendly staff. The room was great. Big, clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. A/C worked great. Nice to have a fridge and microwave. I realized I had forgotten a razor and the front desk staff provided a razor and shave cream at no charge. We have no complaints at all. Tons of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. I would give this hotel my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWing51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

1 Night Stay – September 13, 2011

One of the most friendly and welcoming night reception attendants – Brad – great source of knowledge for a first time visitor to Downtown London.

He suggested the Budapest Hungarian Restaurant next store to hotel. What a delight – home cooking – family owned – great old world décor.

Our 2 double bed room was on the small side but very clean and quiet. Bathroom – great hot water and nice size shampoos and lotion supplied.

Attached Parking on site – lot type on top with open underground below.

Breakfast buffet included – was good and staff kept items full. Had hot items such as eggs and bacon along with cold items such as fresh fruit, muffins, etc.

We would not hesitate staying at again if we were traveling in the area

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was staying here while taking my daughter to university. The price was great as they gave me a special rate since my daughter was going to UWO ($99.00)
The room was superior to what you would normally find for a room at this price. WIFI was free and easy to access. Breakfast was better then most - lots eggs,bacon yogurt,cereal etc...
Also the room had a good size fridge and microwave.

I would stay here agin when in London.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bee-bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Out of staying at many hotels in my life, from 1.5 stars to 5 stars, this has been the utter worst. I have stayed at a lot of other Holiday Inn Express establishments, and this has to be the worst one. You aren’t able to walk on the street in front of the hotel without being yelled at by crack dealers, and drunks. Driving by the area, we see that there is a homeless shelter almost a block away, and a mental heath centre 2 blocks away. This hotel has many safety violations, and will be in contact with the TSSA very soon.

On the website, it Is said that they have a pool, but that is a lie. They give you a coupon to the YMCA to use their facilities, as the hotel doesn’t have a pool. There is a gym with exercise equipment, but the room is about half the size as a standard room, so it is hot and stuffy in there. The room has a television with about 30 channels, none of them children channels, so the kids were not very happy about that, since we paid about $120 for the room each night for 2 nights.

The vicinity of the hotel is utterly disgusting. You go about 20m from the hotel in either direction and in one, you will see drunks on a patio, or a couple in the discount hotel beside us having “fun”. Go in another direction, you will see a bunch of drug addicts looking for dealers. In the back (our view) it is a parking lot, and with no security whatsoever. There are 2 cameras that say its monitored 24/7, but asking the front desk, they say that they are not functioning. We were very shocked when we heard that the door in the parking garage doesn’t close, so anyone can break into your car, steal your belongings ect.

The worst of the worst, was the elevators and the stairs. Out of the 2 elevators, only 1 was functioning. This was most frustrating as we were in a rush to get out, and there are may people waiting for the elevator, and is taking forever for them to come. In the hotel, you would expect the stairs to go from the basement to the highest floor. But in the Holiday Inn Express in London, Ontario, the stairs start from the SECOND Floor, and there are 2 options to get to the main floor: go outside in pitch black, or wait 20 minutes for an elevator. This is a safety violation, so if there was a fire in the basement, how would you get up?

Just to sum this up, don’t stay here, you will honestly regret it. Desiree at the front desk made it an even worse stay. If you do stay here, (not a good choice) sign up for their priority card and you will get parking for free. Save $11 a day. If you need more info or pictures, feel free to message me

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TorontoReviewer421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

As the Director of Sales at the Holiday Inn Express in London, Ontario, I am truly sorry about the unpleasant experiences you had during your stay with us. We strive for great customer service and value with everyone who stays with us. London is a great city and like any cultural epicentre we have a diverse group of people.
Unfortunately, we do not have stairs leading up from the lobby level, but rest assured we have emergency exits from the basement and directly outside from the floors. This is for guest safety, no one is able to access the guest rooms from outside or the lobby unless they have an access key. Yes, Elevator #1 was down for repairs but this is for guest safety as well, we could have had it running but this would have put everyone who steps in it in danger. This would not have been ideal for anyone involved and we choose the safety over the inconvenience of waiting.
We would like to be referred to the website that stated we had a pool because we would hate for any misinformation about the hotel to be misleading guests. We have checked our own website and nothing is mentioned about a pool there, we fear a third party website may have incorrect information.
The Holiday Inn Express brand is committed to great hotels guests love. Again, I am truly sorry to hear of your experiences but I personally promise that we are surprised with your views about the hotel and truly hope to discuss this issue with you personally in the near future.
As for the photos, We have looked over our website regarding the 92 inch flatscreens and we could not find the information that states this fact. We have fire regulations which we must adhere to. We are monitored on this and have been in compliance since we were established.
If you wish to speak more about your stay, please feel free to call at your convenience. London looks forward to having you back, this time hoping for a more enjoyable experience for you.

Sincerely,
Katrina Cooper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel was a nice surprise. As a Priority Club Gold member I was offered an upgrade to a suite and it was very large. It even had a small kitchen! I'd gladly stay here for a few days.

The room itself was very clean and showed no signs of wear. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were crisp and clean. It was nice to have a 2nd TV in the bedroom as well. The bathroom was very clean and the towels were great.

We took advantage of the free self-serve breakfast. Its not the best food you'll ever have but there is enough to choose from it was quite fresh. The breakfast room itself is quite large.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al_kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaraDonkervoort, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Dear Mr. Kennedy,
As the Front Desk Manager and on behalf of our staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown I would like to thank you for your review. Your kind words are appreciated and we are looking forward to you staying with us in the future. We hope to make your next stay even better.


Sincerely
Brittany Weiler
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Econo Lodge
#23 of 41 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
StationPark All Suite Hotel
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown

Address: 374 Dundas St, London, Ontario N6B 1V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $87 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your pleasure, our excellent London accommodations offer you free high-speed wireless Internet access and a complimentary hot breakfast. Our hotel amenities also include a fitness centre & a business centre. We hope you will explore our exceptional London hotel deals and rates as you start planning your trip to London, Ontario today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites London Downtown
Holiday Inn Express London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites London Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing