We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2004

What a great hotel! Very clean. Loved the Atrium area with that great indoor pool. We had a free upgrade to a room with balcony overlooking the pool, which our kids (aged 12 & 10) loved. Rooms were great, very comfortable and everything worked (loved the shower). Had our breakfast in the adjoining restaurant which was always way too much food for us, and welcoming waitors/waitresses (one waitress even remembered "no butter on your son's toast?" from two days earlier!). Stayed there on a Wed, Thur & Fri - and what a difference on a Friday - there was a Prom Night being held and a Conservative Party rally - mega busy! Still, would recommend the place and would definitely stay there again - politicians or not! Trip date: 2-5th June 2004.

Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynJoy1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    257
    74
    33
    16
See reviews for
566
169
32
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ingersoll ontario canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2004

WE stayed here during March Break and just the last couple of days to celebrate the end of school. My boys, ages 13 and 11 love the pool area, it is quite marvelous, beautiful setting and the slide is a lot of fun. But, there is a but here, the rooms are nice and fairly spacious (we were in a suite with bedroom and small living room and sofabed), the rooms need some definite work on soundproofing, although our room was on the atrium side, actually that side is quite soundproof, it's the doorway out of the room, there is a small gap between the door and the frame, you could feel the draft through the door and anyone in the hallway you can hear them speaking, not to mention the doors don't just shut quietly, they slam shut, as much as you try to close them quietly, it just doesn't happen. Also the hotel tends to cater to sports tournaments so there is a lot of chattering and kids in the hotel, sometimes, I think the adults are noisier than the kids. We will stay again and put up with the noise just because the pool area is so nice, but beware it is a noisy hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank sworl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2003

Thought the pool area was quite pretty. Rooms very clean. Service at front desk OK - but no one knocks themself out! I checked in around 10:00 P.M. and was told where my room was and that there was no elevator.

I mentioned I had a bad back but was offered no help with my luggage or to find the room. The room was a walk down a hallway and around the pool area and up a flight of stairs. The proper door to the staircase was a little hard to find.

I only drink tea not coffee. I did mention this to the staff restocking the coffee and tea in the rooms but returned to find no tea bags so I went out and purchased my own supply.

The Restaurant Staff is very pleasant but the food is just so so.

I was attending a wedding event in October 2003 at the hotel and I must say the food for this dinner was very good and the service pleasant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2003

While traveling for business, I visited London, Ontario for an overnight stay. I selected the Best Western Lamplighter Inn based on the fact that a restaurant was built within the complex. Visit didn't turn out as hoped. Suggest that you consider other options before staying at this loction. Lots of distractions throughout the day and evening hours. Not recommended for business travelers.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2003

Updates within the last three years have included a large indoor pool with water slide that makes the whole trip with kids (who like swimming) a must stay. No other hotel/motel can offer such a neat pool.
It is clean, friendly, yet not downtown or near other places to visit although London does not have a downtown, nor too many other interesting places to go unless you like to shop.

Ian

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 30, 2002

My wife and I visited this hotel with our two daughters. Everything seemed fine until a
sports team group arrived. Called the front desk
over three times to complain. Hotel staff could not
control or resolve noise and disturbance issues. Kids playing floor hockey in hall. Adults from sports team partied with drinks in the hall beyond 12 midnight. Manager and Staff seem to cater to teams instead of average visitors. Beware!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2002

This motor-hotel has has recent updates and has build a new wing. State of the art conferance rooms which range from about 30ft x 30ft to larger rooms about 150ft x 200ft. It is located close to hwy 401, has a Smitty's resturant on location but is a $5 taxi ride to a few fine resturants. About a $10 ride to downtown. I would recommend this location to those corporations looking to meet for series sales meetings.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
326 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing