We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed for one night. Nice room. Very clean. I found the bed a little hard but that's me. The pool area is amazing. Pool was colder then I expected but hot tub was perfect. Hot! We ate at the restaurant on site, was good.
I will be staying again. Great location.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank evanescencetabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review of the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are planning on returning. When you make your reservation you may want to request a room with a Tempur-Pedic mattress – we actually have a whole wing equipped with these fantastic mattresses! Thank you again and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Took a mini getaway with our young children. Loved the pool and atrium felt like an oasis. Rooms were clean and comfy and the hotel restaurant Shelly's was fantastic! Great food and wonderful kids options. Best daquiri I have had in years and delish meals.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hello Scott,
Thank you for this great review, we are so happy to hear that you loved your mini getaway at the Lamplighter Inn! We hope that you and your family will return again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The rooms are comfortable and the hallways are quiet. Cleanliness is impeccable. The friendly staff all say hello and smile. Wireless internet access is strong everywhere. It is sometimes a bit of a wait to get turned left onto Wellington St., but that would be the only drawback to the location. The hotel restaurant is as good as any around the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Hello Julie,

Thank you very much for this great review of our hotel and restaurant! We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that you were impressed with our facility. We are so appreciative that you took the time to post these comments on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

So we get to the hotel and it's actually pretty nice, get to our room and the hallway out side our room was babysitting at least 20 children!!! Parents drinking in the rooms with doors open, it was at that moment I realized our stay was not going to be worth almost 200.00 a night.
Try to make the best of this stay and go down to the pool-- my 13 year old son couldn't even enjoy himself bc kids were jumping on him while he was trying to use the pool, I would have loved to use the hot tub, but couldn't even get into it bc it was PACKED WITH KIDS. I just don't understand these parents allowing their kids to run wild and take up a hot tub they shouldn't be in anyways!! I think the parents should be embarrassed and ashamed even my 13 year old said on the way back to the room after our 30 mins there that he couldn't stand another min and that he couldn't believe the parents allowed the kids to behave like that. Running, jumping on people taking up the entire hot tub. I'm all for having fun but this was beyond redic! So now were back in the room going to rent a overpriced movie instead hopefully we can hear it over the kids who are being babysat by the hallway! I will never stay here again and I will also be advising others I know not to stay here as well unless they at the very least assure parents and kids are flowing the rules clearly stated and ensure to keep the kids out of the hot tub and out of the hallways.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dereknash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hello Derek,
I would like to begin by sincerely thanking you for taking the time to share your observations regarding your stay with us over the weekend. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel itself to be nice! I am very sorry that you felt that the behavior of some of our guests hindered your ability to enjoy your stay with us. We do have rules and regulations in place which are meant to prevent this type of activity, and on weekends when we have several sports teams in house we employ a fully uniformed off duty police officer as security during the evening. These officers and our Managers on Duty are normally very quick to respond when a guest calls down to notify us of any unruly behavior that is disrupting their stay. We encourage all of our guests to please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay more comfortable, so that we have the opportunity to address any concerns and make them right. Unfortunately we have found that even the presence of uniformed police officers sometimes does nothing to curb the inattention of some parents. The Hotel staff certainly tries to inform any non-sports team guest when we will have teams in house so that the non-team guest can make an informed decision about their reservation; however this is not something that we are able to do when guests book online.
Thank you once more for taking the time to write this review. Please be assured that we take your comments very seriously. We will be addressing your concerns with our Managers on Duty and working together to avoid this type of situation from happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is guaranteed to please. We stayed in a King size suite and we were amazed at how large it was. Two large flat screen TV's: One in the Bedroom and the other in the living room. The walk out balconi over looked the the beautiful Atrium. It's just like a little villa with real palm trees/garden, walk-ways, large water falls, large fish pond, large pool, slide, hot tub, pool towels/toys, life-guards, gazebo/bar, exercise room and more! All with a warm climate of a tropical paradise. In the summer the glass roof retracts and in the winter it's closed, giving you the feeling of being on vacation in the south. We will return to this hotel in the future once again. Thanks to Best Western for the great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you so much for posting this fantastic description of our hotel and Atrium Oasis! We are so happy you were pleased with your room and with our tropical paradise, and we look forward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent two nights at this hotel and I only wish it had been longer! We had a king suite with a view of the atrium. The room was of perfect size, comfortable and exceptionally clean. The only things that I would note however was that the guest directory was full of crumbs and had things sticking to the pages from previous guests. It was kind of gross and off putting trying to look through it for information. I know that Best Westerns have a 110% clean guarantee and this is definitely something they should have housekeepers double check. Also, our door was fairly frustrating at to get it closed when leaving the room you had to really slam it. We later discovered if we stuck our key in the lock, turned the handle and then closed it, it shut easier. Minor things though and this definitely didn't influence the great experience we had. Staff were very friendly, from the front desk agents to the pool attendants to the house keepers. Everyone was great and had a smile on their face. The pool and waterslide were beautiful and very enjoyable. The overall layout and decoration of the atrium and pool area makes you feel like you're somewhere tropical. Waterfalls and real fish only make it more stunning. We had breakfast in the restaurant and while the food was good the time we spent waiting for it was a bit extreme. We felt we could have enjoyed a meal of the same quality elsewhere with a shorter wait time.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. I would say this is one of the best (if not THE best) hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MOJO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Best Western PLUS Lamplighter Inn, and also for your recommendation! We love hearing when our guests have had a great stay, and we also appreciate any constructive feedback. We will be passing along your comment regarding the directory to our housekeeping department as well as the long wait time to our restaurant so that we can continue to improve our product and service. Thank you again and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Loved it at this hotel and in London On....would go again for sure....great pool area with hot tub and lighthouse that has wate slide thru it and comes out into another smaller pool overlooking the bigger pool and hot tub below...like a tropical trip with all the beautiful palm trees and vegetation..even a walk above that you can do looking down at the pool..and many rooms looking out to the pool with balconies off the rooms...and an added bonus a bar area in white gazebo overlooking the pool...never been to a nice hotel like this before in On. Very close to good shopping mall...and many good restaurants..we loved the fish n chip halibut dinner and clam chowder at Archies and the offee was very good too. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hello Cheryl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review of the Lamplighter Inn! We love when our guests tell us they feel like they are on a tropical trip at our hotel because that is the experience we aim to create! We are thrilled to hear that you would return again in the future and we hope you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
343 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $107 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing