We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, kids loved the slide.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, kids loved the slide.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with decent size rooms. We styed there last minute since my wives mother we in hospital, and the location is nice and close. The kids loved the slide and pool area, and since we had a balcony facing the pool, it was nice and easy to see what they were up to. The only disappointment was the restaurant attached to the hotel (I think it we called Sally's), the wait was horrible - we wanted a quick breakfast, and had to wait 35 min for toast and eggs. The waitress was no better as we had to bug her to bring us water and coffee.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hubert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post comments after your stay with us. We are happy that your children had such a nice time using the water slide and pool area and that overall you liked the hotel. We are sorry to hear your experience in Shelly’s Tap & Grill was not equally pleasant. It isn’t clear when you were in the restaurant but typically a wait like that is not a common occurrence. We hope in time you will try us again to see that Shelly’s Tap & Grill does offer both great food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    240
    71
    33
    16
See reviews for
515
160
31
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room I had was a nice size with a seating area one or two steps lower than the bed area. I was kindly given a room upgrade for being a Gold Crown Club member. The hallway design of this hotel was well done. The room entrances are in a small alcove (two doors more of less opposite) off of the hallway. This reduces the hallway noise from entering the room that normally happens with many hotels. Acoustic treatment to the hallway was also installed to reduce noise. Long halls were avoided by dividing the hotel into sections with separate exterior entrances between the hall sections. The restaurant was also quite good. The hotel is moderately priced for London area. The location is convenient to the hospital. This is a good one. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us! We are very pleased that you were happy with your accommodations. We are very close to Victoria Hospital but also have a complimentary shuttle service that runs to all city hospitals and their affiliate locations during regular business hours. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Thank you for taking the time to post the review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I'm originally from London, Ontario and I used to live right around the corner from this hotel. I never really thought it was anything special. My husband and I (who now live in Toronto), went to London to visit some family for a long weekend. We found the pricing at this hotel was okay, and they have a really fun looking pool and water slide! So, we decided to drop in and see if they had any rooms available. We got the CAA discount (which brought our king room down from $130 to $117); I mentioned it was my birthday, and the guy upgraded us to a king suite (basically a separate living room)...that was awesome of him, but it was only a $5 upgrade (the King Suite would have been $135, before the CAA discount). So, it was nice of him...but not like it broke the bank for the hotel.
We were pretty excited for the pool and water slide, but the night we checked in, the pool was PACKED! So we skipped it and headed out on the town instead. When we got back to the hotel, we asked for an 8am wake up call for the next morning (this would give us enough time to try out the pool, get ready, have breakfast, and make a 10am appointment across town). Well, good thing I'm a light sleeper because we didn't get the wake up call...I just happened to wake up at 8:30am that morning. We missed going to the pool (which was one of the reasons we picked this hotel). When checking out,they didn't ask us how our stay was. We mentioned that we never received the wake up call. Their response? "Well, it rang through...something must have been wrong with the receiver or something". They barely apologized (the only thing they said was sorry that the phone didn't work and they'll send someone to look at it...didn't really help us though), didn't offer to comp us for anything (not even the $5 breakfast in the attached restaurant), and didn't even seem concerned that we couldn't use the facilities or that we might be late for our appointment.
The hotel itself was large, clean, pretty quiet (it's on a main street; our room overlooked the pool area, but we didn't really hear any noise), but the service was below expectations. At least a little genuine concern over a hotel error would have been appreciated...rather than the "we did everything on our end...sorry about your luck" attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_STO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to review our hotel.
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre has gone through many changes over the years. There is 19000 square feet of meeting & conference space catering to weddings, social events, conferences and day meetings. We have 172 guest rooms, many with internal views of our garden atrium and pool area which has a retractable clear panel roof. This Atrium Oasis includes many species of palms, tropical plants; Koi pond and water fall as well. Our pool and water slide is open daily and caters to both the young and young at heart!
Weekends are definitely a busier time at the hotel however there are times that are perfect for a quieter get away. We suggest calling the hotel direct to find out what suites you best.
We are sorry that you did not receive your wake up call. Guest Services enters the wake up calls in our computer phone system and the calls automatically go out at the appropriate time. Your wake-up call was entered into the system so the fact you did not receive it must mean a computer or phone glitch of some sort. Once again our sincere apologies for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay in the overly spacious, immacuately clean beautiful jacuzzi room. We spent our wedding night at the Lamplighter 13 years ago, we loved it then, and it certainly didn't disappoint us upon our return, to celebrate our anniversary. Lovely hotel, that is why we chose it back then for our wedding reception which is still talked about to this day. Staff were wonderful, the room had all we could want and more, comfortable beds, with great pillows, lovely robes set out for us, and someone complimentary arranged a fruit plate for us. Cheers to the Lamplighter, London's little oasis.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndq1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! Happy you enjoyed your return visit with us. If you looked closely you would probably have recognized some of the staff from 13 years ago. We have many long term employees here. Wishing you both all the very best! Looking forward to your next visit!
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harsens Island, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and had a king suite on the third floor. Our balcony overlooked the pool and tropical atrium. Left the screen door open so we could hear the waterfalls all night long. Even though we were many years older than the "kids" using the waterslide we went down it 3 times. What a blast! The pool and the pool area were spotless. Got up in the morning and they were scrubbing down everything. I also travel with cleaning cloths like the other reviewer stated she does....no need for them here. Everything was spotless...the bed was sooo comfortable we hated to get up in the morning. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Ate at Shelly's attached to the hotel for dinner...ribs were excellent. Went on the tour at the LaBatts Beer Brewery. It was really interesting..free tasting at the end of the tour and a free T-Shirt. Can't wait to come back to this Best Western!!!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the atrium..we had 371...beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. Isn’t it great to be in the Tropics without having to deal with all of the travel!
It is wonderful that you had such a nice visit with us. For those that like to hear water sounds you are surrounded in our Atrium…but on the other hand if you like it quiet once your patio doors are closed you have silence.
There is no age restriction on our water slide…just the 4 foot height restriction. We are so happy you were able to join in the water slide fun too.
Our Housekeeping Department works very hard and with pride to keep our hotel clean. It is always wonderful to hear such positive comments like you have just shared about our cleanliness…
You mentioned your bed was so comfortable! In case you didn’t know we also have a wing of our hotel that has Tempurpedic beds if you ever wish to try one.
Shelly’s Tap & Grill is open 7 days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We offer a Family Style Chicken special Friday to Sunday and our Family Style Rib special Thursday evenings. There is something for everyone at Shelly’s!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and London any time…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Staff were great, room was great.
It is a wonderful pet-friendly and family-friendly hotel.
Cost was very reasonable!
Pool slide was fun, restaurant was great.
We will recommend this hotel to our friends for sure!

Room Tip: Pet Friendly rooms were awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Welcome back to London and UWO. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting again. Hopefully prior to another 25 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel offers an indoor pool and spa in a tropical setting for a very reasonable price. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Hotel staff were helpful. The property was close to shopping and a variety of restaurant choices. The meeting rooms were quite suitable for our group and the catering for our meals and breaks was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction with our property. We appreciate knowing that our guests enjoy both the service and amenities. We hope that you will visit our little Oasis the next time you are in London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
305 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing