We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stsyed here for a night while in town visiting.

As a Diamond member, I was upgraded to an excellent mini-suite with a great view of the pool area

The room, while perhaps dated in places, was clean and comfortable.

My room had a tempurpedic bed, which was amazing. There was also a great jacuzzi in the bathroom.

The pool area was amazing! Pool and hot tub were of a great temperature. The water slide was fun!

The restaurant was great. I highly recommend the Oriental Chicken Salad. Excellent service by Tara.

Only 2 negatives: wifi was VERY slow and someone from housekeeping knocked on my door with the DND sign on the door despite being granted a late check out. I'll look past these though because of the great pluses.

I'd definitely return if I was in the area again!



Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank cober6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear couber6711,

We are glad to hear you had a great time enjoying everything The Best Western Plus, Lamplighter Inn has to offer. We want you to feel as comfortable here as you would at home.
I will be sure to pass along your praise of the food and service from our on-site restaurant Shelly’s.
I am, however, looking into the WIFI connection. I do know that over the weekend we were experiencing problems with all of our systems. I have also expressed your comments to housekeeping.
Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    234
    68
    32
    16
See reviews for
507
157
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Truly enjoyed my stay here. Comfort plus!
Felt safe & sound, as the security is always visible.
The staff were great and the restaurant was super. The location was excellent to get back & forth to Victoria Hospital.
So glad I took a friends' suggestion to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear LouiseO,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you took your friends suggestion to stay at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn. We have many guests stay with us due to the proximity to the hospitals.
I will share your comments with our staff and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here Feb 22-24 with our hockey team. Our rooms were at the back of hotel on main floor which was requested as we know our group can get noisy. Rooms were fine, beds were very comfortable. Had to call maintenance to turn fridge temp up,they came quickly. We also rented a hospitality suite for the weekend for our adults to congregate in at night. Suite was very large with a Murphy bed which we put away. It was able to hold 30+ adults to watch the hockey game,eat pizza and drink. Hotel is very strict about no mini sticks in the halls,kids just played in the entrance to our wing, didn't seem to be a problem. The room was very hot. We turned down temp and it didn't help, tried to put AC on, it didn't come on. I mentioned this at check out and staff said the owner wants the AC turned off in the winter...doesn't make sense when you want to cool your room down, was very uncomfortable for sleeping. The restaurant had decent food, the ribs were very good and the prices seemed reasonable. Our team rented a banquet room for Friday night dinner in advance so they knew we had a large group coming. It took half of our families and hour and 40 mins to get their food. When this group voiced their dissatisfaction the female server flipped out on one of the fathers in front of all the kids. Very inappropriate. At the very least they should have comped them their dinner bills but all they offered them were vouchers for the $5 breakfast, very lame! The rude staff are ruining the brand name and the experience of the stay for the guests. The hotel owner doesn't seem to want to go out of their way for guests either. Highly unlikely we will every stay at this hotel again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Murphds,

Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor response. I’m pleased that your rooms were comfortable and maintenance took good care of you. While I am happy that you enjoyed your stay I’m sorry that you found your room to be too warm. Unfortunately due to the age of this particular wing of the hotel the heating / cooling system is water cooled for air conditioning therefore is turned off once winter comes. I hope you were able to use the sliding doors to the outdoor patio for some fresh air in order to cool things off a little.
The team that you were part of was given a complimentary banquet room in order to accommodate you as the largest group dining in our restaurant. We also had 3 other teams dining in Shelly’s Tap & Grill this past Friday evening. This past weekend was one of the larger last big weekend’s of the Hockey season and the demands on our restaurant to accommodate all in house guests was definitely at its peak. Your room and the dining room were adequately staffed and our kitchen had a full team on.
Your particular group arrived in a staggered manner starting around 7PM and the last of your group came into the dining room between 7:15 and 7:20PM. Everyone was served and cleared by 8:30 PM. It was 1½ hour from start to finish. Given the volume of guests, the complexity of servicing team business, along with the fact that there were no food issues that evening, tells me that our people did a good job servicing everyone.

Your group as a whole had no complaints that were voiced to the hotel that evening. As for the incident you refer to, there were two issues that were dealt with after most everyone in your dining room had left but a few people. This incident is still being followed up on.

The Team business can be very demanding on the staff of the hotel not to mention physically demanding on the property. Considering the quantity of Beverage Containers that are collected by the housekeepers and other staff over these weekends it is evident that there is often considerable alcohol consumed over a short period of time. The result of that can also be very taxing on hotel staff, security and other hotel guests that are not part of teams. The owner of this property takes great care in maintaining the facilities and always offers a notch above what is mandated by our brand. Our organization as a whole takes great pride in our property and does it’s very best to be accommodating and caring towards all of our hotel guests.

Thank you very much again for your comments and opinions. We certainly will take your comments along with our experience from this past weekend to make the necessary changes in order to streamline things in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here the family day long weekend (Feb 15-16th, 2013) for a hockey tournament. While the pool area is great, the rest of the hotel is nothing more than average.

We were a group of 10 families and the hotel put us at the back with no elevator, so 3 flights of stairs need to climbed to reach our rooms. Where your hauling hockey gear this can be a challenge.

The rooms were average at best, but were clean and well equipped. The entrance to the building at the back is not secured, and does not require a room key to gain access. This left a very insecure feeling at night.

The lobby, common areas and the pool "Oasis" is fantastic for kids or events such as weddings or corporate events. In fact, a newly married couple showed up while we were in the pool for a photo op. All areas are clean, well supervised and in top condition.

If I did have a complaint it would be value for price. No breakfast was served, a common bonus in most hotels these days. I would rate this hotel in the upper level as far as price / person.

In my opinion, this hotel is meant for the occasional weekend getaway or executives, not for sports teams.

The on-site restaurant, I was told, had great food, but after my group ate there, all they did was complain. We opted to eat outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, choose a room with a balcony overlooking the "Oasis area", of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnt2acrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Burnt2acrisp
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am disappointed you felt the hotel was overpriced. We are priced slightly higher than other hotels in this area of the city; however we do feel we provide “value” to our guests. We also discount for team/group bookings.
Putting locks on the outside doors has been in discussion. We have not done it yet simply due to some of our guests not wanting locks due to the size of the property and the frustration of searching for a key, or a key not working when they get to their entrance. We feel the surrounding area is safe, as well; we have staff on 24 hours a day monitoring the hotel and hallways. Security is brought in on hockey/ sports weekends when we are at high volume.

We have found that the majority of the Hotels in London do not include breakfast in their rate. I apologize for your disappointment of our on-site restaurant and will certainly forward your comments.
I do thank you for your mention of our "clean and well equipped rooms" and I am thrilled that you and your family enjoyed our “ clean, well supervised and in top condition" Atrium.

Once again thank you for your post to Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I found It slightly overpriced considering the competition of hotels in the area with better value for your money. If your want a resort style hotel for a family trip or just a fun couples trip its worth it to Book Here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nelson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Nelson T,
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed you felt the Hotel was overpriced. We are priced slightly higher than other Hotels in this area of the city; however we do feel we provide “value” to our guests. We are a full service Hotel offering the convenience of in-room dining, an on-site restaurant and lounge and Conference Centre. The other Hotels off of the 401 are limited service; therefore the level and number of amenities available are less than those of our property. Additional value ads include on-site games and arcade room, complimentary parking as well as complimentary internet, local and 1-800 calls. Our location is also preferred in that we are midway between the 401 and downtown London, providing convenient access to London’s amenities. For our guests who are in town to visit any of the area Hospitals, we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from all Hospitals in London. As you mentioned, we also feature the Atrium with a waterslide, waterfalls, hot tub, and indoor pool and koi ponds all under a retractable glass roof. Therefore, we feel the value we offer affords a higher room rate.

Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities.At the heart, is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool.The BEST WESTERN PLUS Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, Traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing