We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all Brides!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Calling all Brides!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you havent picked out your wedding ceremony and reception site look no further!!! I had my wedding here a couple weeks ago and am so happy this is the place we ended up going with. Staff service was PHENOMENAL! So honored to have Claudia help us make our special day a dream come true!! We had our ceremony by the pool, and our reception in the full crystal ball room. My guest rated the food to be the best tasting food, and most beautiful wedding venue they have been to in a few years!! Affordable rates for your guests to stay over night at all under the same roof!! How convienient!! Thanks again Best Western! You guys are awesome!! I'll be recommending it to everyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triplover98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Triplover98,

Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

Let me start off by first saying Congratulations to you!

We agree with you, this is the best place to hold your wedding/reception! Our Sales & Catering team do amazing work along with the Banquet staff. We all want your magical day to be one you will never forget.

The atrium is a beautiful spot to be married. You never have to worry about the weather because the atrium is enclosed under a retractable glass roof. It is a year-round tropical paradise full of exotic plants, flowers, waterfalls and so much more. It is also a great place to have your weddings pictures taken.

The Crystal Ballroom is stunning. It features twelve 8-foot crystal chandeliers suspended from the 21 foot ceiling. Whether you want the full ballroom or divided in half for smaller weddings anything is possible. We also offer many different sizes of banquet rooms.

We are pleased your guests loved the food. Our Chefs strive for excellence and by reading your review, they achieved this.

I will be sure to show this review with staff. It is always nice to show them great reviews such as this.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    257
    74
    33
    16
See reviews for
565
168
32
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night in late July during a soccer tournament.

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside - a souped up two story hotel/motel like structure.

Inside looks like it has been upgraded, the room was nice, clean and in good upkeep. The air conditioning was not working properly, but the staff were very responsive about it. Beds were comfortable.

All staff were friendly and accommodating.

The pool area was a great feature, and our kids really enjoyed it.

The restaurant food was reasonably priced and they had a good selection.

All in all, would return...in fact we have already booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lone_palm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear lone_palm,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

From the outside it looks like just another hotel but when you enter that all changes. We are London’s hidden gem.

The hotel boasts a spectacular atrium located at the heart of the hotel. It holds an indoor pool, hot tub, & waterslide all enclosed under a retractable glass roof. The area is surrounded by tropical plants and flowers, a koi pond and so much more. It truly is a sight to be seen.

Our guest rooms are spacious and have been renovated with premium bed linens, flat screen tv’s, and more. My apologies for the air conditioning not working properly. It sounds like staff was responsive and took care of that for you.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed Shelly’s Tap & Grill. They have a large menu with many selections so there is always something for everyone. They also offer great daily specials and ALL YOU CAN EAT specials.

Thank you for complimenting staff by referring to them as friendly and accommodating. We want all of our guests to feel as comfortable here staying at the hotel as you are at home. Our staff appreciates reviews such as this.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This motel was beautiful. Rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. Restaurant had very good food at a good value. Location of the motel was not the best for us but all in all, our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear roamingprofessor,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lamplighter Inn. Our guests do enjoy the spacious rooms, as well find our mattresses quite comfortable. We offer pillow top and Tempur Pedic mattresses. I am glad to hear you liked your room.

Shelly’s Tap & Grill offers a wide variety of menu selections so everyone can find something to enjoy and their prices are very reasonable as well. Thank you for your comments on Shelly’s.

We are located in between the 401 and the downtown area close to shopping, hospitals and many other great businesses within London. The south end of London is where most of the hotels are situated, which is where we are located as well.

Thanks again for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Booking for a wedding?? After you check in at $129/night as a wedding group package and get your swipe room cards/keys you drive around to the back of the hotel (the old hotel). We have children so right away I look for security on doors accessing into hotel, nope we walked right in. All hotels I have visited had security card entry. Not this one. As soon as you walked right in the back door it says "Have your belongings in a safe and secure place. This hotel is not responsible for stolen items". This is a given but when anyone can just walk in the hotel, onto any floor right away i think this is very unsafe for families! You never know who is roaming the halls, have these people paid to be here or did they just come in the back or side door?? The rooms were small..bathrooms well you can't get anymore than one person in them. Yah the powder part of the bathroom was separate but if i was using that i had to move for anyone to get past me or if anyone had to go into the closet??. There was not even a continental breakfast! Of coarse the kids enjoyed the pool and yes the setting was beautiful and the pool was nice and warm (I believe they are now doing renovations) but the best part of the hotel was not being there...maybe things would have been different if they didn't stick us in the back old part.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have to book there, you ask for the new part. Allthought i am not sure that is any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosdniwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear rosdniwa,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Let me first start off by apologizing that we did not meet your expectations.

Putting locks on the outside doors has been in discussion. We have not done it yet simply due to some of our guests not wanting locks due to the size of the property and the frustration of their keys not working when they get to their entrance. We feel the surrounding area is safe, as well we have staff on 24 hours a day monitoring the hotel and hallways, as well, security is brought in on weekends when we are at high volume.

The “don’t leave valuables in your car” signs you mention that are located at every entrance were put in place by the London Police. All the hotels were asked to put these signs at all entrances/exits due to a string of car break-ins awhile back. Thieves were going from one parking lot to the next down the street stealing lap tops, purses, wallets, etc that people had left in their cars. We kept the signs up to simply to remind guests not to leave valuable possessions inside their vehicles. We offer in room safes for our guests valuables.

The hotel has been expanded over the years adding an additional wing and the atrium. The set up is like a horseshoe with the atrium being in the centre. All the wings are connected to the atrium which is central, so once you’re inside you don’t have to go outside to get to another part of the hotel. The wing you stayed in was part of the original hotel but has have been renovated along with the other wings. All the décor is the same throughout the hotel. The wing you were in just had the hallways renovated as well. The bathrooms are the only part that is a different set up. Some of our guests like the having the vanity outside of the washroom and some don’t. I apologize you did not like your set-up.

We do not have a continental breakfast on the property due to having a full service restaurant serving hotel guests as well as non hotel guests. Shelly’s is a very busy restaurant especially during breakfast hours. They have an extensive menu with daily breakfast specials starting at $4.99.

I am glad to hear your family enjoyed the pool. The atrium is a beautiful place to swim, relax, let loose, and have some fun all while being surrounded by exotic gardens.

I will definitely show this review to the owner and let him know your feelings on putting locks on entrance/exit doors.

Again, thank you for your review and letting us know your concerns. We hope next time you are in the area you will consider us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Since I was there last, they improved the restaurant greatly. It wasn't like it was bad food before, but it was kinda standard. Now it's an Irish theme, and great ambiance. My only problem was slow service from the bartender. Maybe if they had another waitress, ...who knows. But the food was good, and the beer cold. What more could you ask for right?

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the pool, it's got either a patio or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photogeek_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Photogeek_1969,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed dining at Shelly’s Tap & Grill. You are right; we have improved/changed our menu a little bit over the past few months. We still have a large selection so everyone can find something, as well, after reviewing our customer comment cards made a few additions and changes.

I do apologize for the slow service on the lounge side. I will speak with the Restaurant Manager regarding that. Sometimes a person is cut when it seems to be quiet, but there should always be more then 1 server on each side of the restaurant. Thank you for letting me know this so I can correct it.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope next time you are in town you will come to Shelly’s Tap & Grill again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel three nights. The room was excellent. The king bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with both a tub and separate shower. Everything was very clean, and quiet. The pool area is very pretty and has a nice bar. Our only concern was that there is no security (card access) on the doors coming in from the parking lot. Anybody can enter the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Linda N,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that you very much liked your room. All of our rooms are spacious along with the washrooms. Some of our rooms do have the separate shower stall from the bath tub like you described, which our guests’ love. Especially when you have children.

While some of the exit doors are not locked, we do have staff and at the hotel 24 hrs. a day. The staff monitor the hotel constantly, checking the hallways, doors, the parking lot, etc. for our guests’ security. On weekends during high occupancy we do bring in a Police Officer as well to help out.

Thank you again for your review Linda. We hope next time you are in the area you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel. It is alot larger than it seems. They have a beautiful pool area with a water slide which my son loved. Our room was comfortable. We had a King bed and a sofa bed for may son. The room was clean and quiet.The Resturant on site is good. Reasonably priced. There are also lots in the area if you want something different.Check in/out was flawless. Staff was freindly. Over all it was a good exprience. I would stay here agian. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagetman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanofhotel, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear gagetman96,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

The Hotel does seem small from the outside, but when you come inside it is quite the opposite. It is always fun to see the look on guest’s faces when they discover the atrium, that something that big and beautiful cannot be seen from the outside. We are London’s hidden gem! The atrium boasts a large pool, waterslide, hot tub, koi pond, and so much more all enclosed under a retractable glass roof. You’ll feel as though you have been transported to a year-round tropical paradise.

We have many different room styles to fit all our guests’ needs. Choose from our traditional rooms to suites, atrium view or non atrium. We also have romance suites with double Jacuzzi & gas fireplaces to our large Family Suites. We are glad you enjoyed your King Suite.

Shelly’s Tap & Grill is on the property serving breakfast (ALL DAY), lunch and dinner. They offer a large menu so there is always something for everyone. They are known for being reasonably priced and having great daily specials.

We are situated in between the 401 and the downtown area, easy access to everything you need.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lamplighter, from check-in to check-out. We hope next time you are in the area you will choose the Lamplighter Inn again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Westminster
Hampton Inn by Hilton London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
326 reviews
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre

Property: Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
Address: 591 Wellington Road S., London, Ontario N6C 4R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#3 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn is unequivocally the finest Hotel and Conference Centre in Southwestern Ontario. Here you will find a complete spectrum of first class accommodations and Conference, Meeting and Banquet facilities. At the heart is the spectacular atrium, a multi-tiered oasis of natural beauty under a retractable glass canopy. Be transported to a year round tropical paradise where the sun glistens off the sparkling blue waters of the award winning swimming pool. The Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre also sets high standards in room appointments, focusing on flexibility and comfort. Choose from Executive Suites, traditional bedrooms, or romantic retreats with a double Jacuzzi and cozy gas fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn And Conference Centre Hotel London
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing