We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This charming, small hotel is located across the street from Budweiser Gardens, and is an ideal venue for a romantic getaway. Our clean, modern room was beautifully appointed, and the robes and Aveda toiletriies in the bathroom were a nice touch. Our room was very quiet, as it overlooked the skylit interior courtyard. Staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and gracious, and the food and service in the hotel restaurant were excellent. This hotel has considerably more character than most of its downtown London competitors, and when one factors in the very reasonable rack rates, this is an accommodation which we have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FandB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We are grateful to have you stay with us at the Hotel. Thanks so much for your kind comments. We strive hard to ensure we are able to give you a great experience and happy to see you appreciated the small touches that we are able to offer. We welcome all comments and advice from our guests.

We're also happy you enjoyed the Entertainment district of Downtown that the Hotel is lucky to be apart of! It is definitely a gem for Canada's London.

The entire team thanks you and we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 472 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked this hotel as an overnight getaway for my fiance birthday gift. I saw mixed reviews through various websites so i was a little leary I must admit. I have to say...I was BLOWN AWAY with the place! First of all, the decor was pleasant upon enter, the front desk employee, Natalie, was a sweetheart and eager to greet us and answer any questions we had. The room I booked was the King Loft. It was spacious, clean and had every amenity I could have asked for. I was especially pleased to see the Keurig coffee maker and refrigerator in the room ( there was even complimentary bottled water already in there)! The bed was amazing! The linens were clean and soft, the mattress was perfect, and comfy pillows. The tub is very deep and the shower is the waterfall style head the comes out from the ceiling. We both commented we could have lived in that room if we ate out every night! Almost like a studio apartment! Across the street is a fantastic indoor market that has everything you could think of in the way of cuisine but if you are looking for a FANTASTIC meal out eat at the Blue Duby inside the building with of the hotel. We had dinner and drinks there and the food and service was second to none. The owner Joe was a fabulous host as was his Stepdaughter, our server. Lastly, my romantic man surprised ME on our night out and arranged for rose petals and a long stem rose to await me on the bed. Natalie, the front desk employee happily arranged this for him and added one more special touch to stay! We can't wait to return and hope to see everyone in April...May at the LATEST!

Room Tip: King Loft was gorgeous and unique.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us at Hotel Metro. We are thrilled we were able to make your stay so memorable! The special requests and unique touches are our specialty and the entire staff loves to hear you enjoyed them. Our team is definitely our greatest asset!

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes to the both of you.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This quaint, romantic, and modern hotel sat in a perfect location in the heart of downtown London. You are within walking distance to everything you need. The hotel itself was clean, attractive and the staff was incredibly nice. They don't have all of the amenities of bigger hotels such as a pool, game room and exercise facility but the room is so nice we didn't want to leave it anyways. Parking is a bit of a chore but in the grand scheme of life, it was a trivial problem that was easily overcome. Great job Metro! We look forward to visiting you again.

Room Tip: The king loft is huge, amazing, and comfortable however, in the winter months, it can get chilly. Al...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the great Entertainment area we are lucky to be in! Our unique room and location are our greatest asset.

We look forward to hosting you anytime. Also, next time, please request a space heater for your room if needed. We always have a few on hand for our guests if they need their room to be a little toasty.

Again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards from everyone at Hotel Metro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent a night at Hotel Metro this past weekend. The staff tried their best to be helpful, and they were very friendly. I was surprised, however, that there doesn't seem to be training for new staff on the city and its attractions to pass on to guests - asked about the distance to Centennial Hall from the hotel, the friendly girl at the front desk didn't know, asked about parking on the street overnight - again, no knowledge to pass on... Tin the morning (-16 degrees) the lady at the front desk sent us to a breakfast place that was closed : (

However, when I did call down to the front desk shortly after arriving to ask about the strange room we were given that has doors opening onto an Atrium where there was a wedding taking place (with some rather sparse drapes separating our room from the 'Atrium'... and the other windows from the other rooms looking on the same room) we were switched to a room facing outside which was nice of them - felt much better in that room.

As far as the rooms go, the bed was better than most, the pillows were great and the room was comfortable and ample. The room is made to look very modern and is huge and sparse - one chair to sit on, not fabulous lighting over the desk and the details were a bit wanting... subway tiles in the shower not very well laid, which is a minor detail, but lends to the overall feel... carpet is cheap and not well laid... the sinker was the fan that roared on all night like a Russian airplane - there were only 2 choices of settings: auto or on.... 'on' left it roaring constantly and 'auto' turned on every 20 minutes. Not a great place for sleeping. The wide-screen TV is a nice touch though.

The staff were courteous and did their best... ate downstairs at the Blu Duby (we were rushed for time), and had a fabulous meal delivered almost instantly - again, staff was lovely... absolutely no complaints!

The hotel itself was okay, well-located, but for the price, we've stayed in hotels that blew us away in Montreal, Scottsdale, New York City, Paris, London... I was expecting more.

Room Tip: Not sure if the upgrades are worth it, but ask if your room is an 'atrium' room... you may b...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taigacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We appreciate your comments as we're always trying to make our guests' experiences the best they can be.

Firstly, thank your for staying with us at Hotel Metro. We're glad to hear all the positives about your experience and rooms. And, Blu Duby is a fantastic restaurant! We always get rave reviews from our guests.

We have recently hired new staff to keep up with our increased number of guests since taking over the operations of the hotel. We are in the process of training and haven't quite finished yet. Your comments are really appreciated and we will work to finish up the training ASAP, so our staff is fully prepared to answer ALL your questions. We were also fully booked this weekend in addition to an afternoon wedding ceremony in our Atrium...glad to hear you were accommodated in another room that suited you.

We really look forward to hosting you again. Please contact me directly for your next visit and we'd be happy to get everything you require prepared just right for your arrival...and ensure a great stay at our property!

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We came here February 16, 2013. I booked the king room for my sweet heart (wife) and me. At first there was a small misunderstanding but the hotel did such an amazing job to make it up to us. They placed rose petals from the front entrance of the room, all over the bed and around the bath tub. They placed a bottle of chilled wine and two glasses at the foot of the bed, placed 14 candles around the room and left us a spa package to enjoy. All this was complimentary and done for us without asking. The hotel did this to make up for things. They really went out of their way to make our valentines weekend and refused a tip....to me that's class. I will definitely return here next time I'm in town.

By the way if your wondering the rooms do look as cool as they appear online and the beds are soooo comfortable.

Thank you Hotel Metro for a wonderful stay!
Danial

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danial D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We are ecstatic we were able to make your stay a very special night. The staff strives to ensure all our guests have a unique and wonderful experience at our property and its great to know it gets noticed! Thanks for your patience and allowing us to correct our mistakes.

We look forward to hosting you again anytime you're in town. Have a great year from all of us at Hotel Metro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My fiancee and I headed to London for a show at the Budweiser Gardens.

Over all it was a great trip.

Positives:

We would have to say that the number one positive about this hotel is the location.
We loved our rooms, found it clean and cozy. The deco was modern, and decorated different than most hotels which made it feel more unique.

The staff was very nice and always interacted with us by asking how our room/ day was.
Our room had everything we needed; towels, toiletries, comfy bathrobes, books to read, and water/Keurig.

Negatives:

The heating was very loud and the bed was not the most comfortable thing to sleep on. The bed looks great and matched the decor but was not all that comfortable.

I would have loved to have had was a different type of flavor for the Keurig for us non-coffee drinkers, such as hot chocolate.

A small continental breakfast would have been great.


The only other downfall was that there was no in and out parking, and the marking parking can be expensive. Parking however, we know is out of their control because there just is not enough room for a parking lot. If Hotel Metro could get an agreement with the market for in and out parking that would be a great thing.

This was our first time going to Hotel Metro and we will gladly be back when the weather is nicer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Metro! We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again this summer!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the Entertainment District and the show at Budweiser Gardens which is just steps from the property. Its great to hear that the staff was attentive; they are always happy to hear from our guests. We're also glad to know you felt comfortable in our modern, unique suites.

Because of our unique location in the heart downtown London, and the host of entertainment locations we do not have our own parking lot. The Covent Market underground parking across from us is great, but we haven't cracked the issue of in/out access as of yet. Your comments have been heard and we will move this to the top of our list!

We do offer a continental breakfast on weekend mornings and will be starting weekday service in the near future.

Thanks again for staying with us at Hotel Metro. We look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Back in March 2012, my boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night -- and it was wonderful. We checked in somewhat belatedly and the hotel staff was more than accommodating, making sure that we had the best room possible, even upgrading us to a nicer room. The room was beautiful -- both relaxing and luxurious. Overall, our stay was outstanding, in particular due to the extremely helpful staff who made our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review! We're happy that you had such a great time. Our suites are definitely suited to romantic getaways and we try our best to upgrade whenever possible.

We're also very happy that the staff was able to accommodate your requests! We strive really hard to ensure our guests have an experience just like you have.

We would love the opportunity to host you again sometime soon!

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
338 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central London
StationPark All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 32 Covent Market Pl, London, Ontario N6A 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $110 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are London’s premiere boutique hotel, nestled in the entertainment district of the downtown area. With a unique blend of lofty minimalism and a dash of trendy flair, we are the perfect escape from the ordinary hotel. We are the perfect blend of past and present contemporary design. At Hotel Metro: Consider it Done! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metro London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing