We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Hotel Metro!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Back in March 2012, my boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night -- and it was wonderful. We checked in somewhat belatedly and the hotel staff was more than accommodating, making sure that we had the best room possible, even upgrading us to a nicer room. The room was beautiful -- both relaxing and luxurious. Overall, our stay was outstanding, in particular due to the extremely helpful staff who made our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review! We're happy that you had such a great time. Our suites are definitely suited to romantic getaways and we try our best to upgrade whenever possible.

We're also very happy that the staff was able to accommodate your requests! We strive really hard to ensure our guests have an experience just like you have.

We would love the opportunity to host you again sometime soon!

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 471 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

As an experienced traveller, I would have to say that this hotel is among the top five best rooms I've ever stayed in (and at a great price). My boyfriend and I stayed on a Sunday night and wished we could have stayed longer! It was very clean, well-decorated, and had amazing, large, windows that faced the street. We were on the fourth floor and could not hear any noises from outside.

We were automatically upgraded to a loft suite, free of charge, by a friendly staff member. As soon as we saw the room, we both agreed that it embodied our idea of an ideal bachelor apartment. The air conditioner was no louder than the fan I use at home, so it didn't bother either of us. Our favourite part of the room, other than the comfy bed, was the deep-soaker tub!

The only negative thing I could think of was that the elevator lights were somewhat strobe-light-like but this is very minor and did not affect our stay.

Lastly, a great part about this hotel is the location. We were able to walk to Moxie's for dinner and then enjoy the holiday lights at Victoria Park, all while being fairly close to the hotel.

Overall, it was a great experience and hopefully we'll get a chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thanks so much for your stay at Hotel Metro! We are happy that you had a great time in our premiere Loft Suite. The open concept with soaker tub style room is well suited for a romantic evening.

We routinely upgrade guests based our availability and we're glad to know you enjoyed the upgrade!

We really appreciate any feedback from our guests and act upon it immediately. The entire staff appreciates your kind words and we will get those elevator light bulbs changed right away!

We hope to host you again sometime soon.

Happy Holidays to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Metro on November 30th and December 1st, 2012. We booked Hotel Metro through a third-party reservation service, which we have used many times before in other cities with excellent results and terrific value. That service gave the hotel 3.5 stars, which we would argue is at least 3 stars too many.

The first problem we encountered was being booked into a room with two double beds instead of a king-sized bed, which would be the default anywhere else. The girl at the front desk said we should have called beforehand to ensure our room selection; this in direct contradiction to what it said on our third-party reservation receipt. She then stated that we would not understand to do this because only people who work in the hospitality industry know this, which was insulting.

Unfortunately, there were no other available rooms to put us in, so we made due with pushing the beds together. Big mistake. Pushing the beds together revealed a stained area on the carpet that looked and smelled like vomit, so we had to put one of the few bath towels down to cover it. The carpets in our room and in the third floor hallway were extremely dirty and stained, and desperately need to be replaced. The tile floor in the bathroom was also dirty and noticeably dusty around the edges.

The room itself was uncomfortably hot when we got there, but luckily we did figure out how to control the heat. The fan was extremely loud and annoying, as was the elevator, which caused a little earthquake every time it went by beside our room. The "windows" faced inside the hotel, so the only view was down into a little banquet-type room; you could see directly into the other hotel rooms if the blinds were open.

The Hotel Metro's decor was tacky and drab, all done in dark greys and dark purple. It looked like a first-year interior design student's attempt to be hip and modern on an extremely low budget. The lighting in the room was stark and unpleasant; there were no table or floor lamps to create softer mood lighting.

Despite putting out the "do not disturb" sign on our door, the maid knocked on the door the morning after our first night to ask when we were checking out. We gently reminded her that our prepaid reservation was for two nights (unfortunately!).

Parking was a pain because it is located across the street from the hotel under the Covent Garden Market. Expect a bit of a drive around a couple of city blocks to get to it from the hotel because of the one-way streets. It is not included in the room, and the fee is paid directly to the lot attendant.

The hotel is located on a busy downtown London street, and is very hard to find because of small signs. There are entrances at the front and rear of the building, but both sides are pretty sketchy. On weekend nights, the whole area was swarming with loud drunk people. The club at the end of the block pumps music outside for the smokers' section, so we checked in to the tune of "Gangnam Style".

In conclusion, we would never recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you are looking for a place in downtown London to bring a hooker.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amccarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Firstly, thank you for staying with Hotel Metro. We appreciate all our guests and take concerns to heart in an effort to improve your experience at our property.

We are currently engaged in a Hotel Enhancement initiative to improve all aspects of the hotel including renovations, in-room amenities and staff training.

Clearly, your check-in experience was very frustrating and we understand that the rest of your stay was affected by that initial encounter. Our reservation system clearly indicated your preferred room selection and it was our staff who failed to book the according room for you. We sincerely apologize for this mistake.

Our Guest Services Manager actually caught this in the morning and made the arrangements to upgrade you to a suite with the correct bed preference, but we unsuccessfully contacted you as the "do not disturb" was indicated on your phone and door. In hindsight, we should have found another way to get you to the correct room. We are deeply motivated to make our guests happy at any cost!

Please feel free to contact me directly as we are only happy when our guest are happy. We would love the opportunity to host you again and ensure that you have a memorable and pleasant stay with us.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed over on a Saturday night at the hotel. The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. The room was very European and chic. A pleasant change from the standard large hotel . The location of this hotel is convenient to many interesting aspects of London however be wary that this particular block of the city is a bit sketchy . As for the hotel , there is some room for improvement. As for the area that it is located in, that is up to the City of London to ensure that they keep the area clean and safe. City of London!!! Wake up – garbage bags do not belong on the street overnight . Treat your guests with respect! Hotel Metro – don’t tolerate garbage on the streets .
Our room very very hot . The wall switch for the heat did not work properly. The bed pillows were probably the most uncomfortable to have slept on . As a frequent traveller I know that it is possible to have comfortable pillows. Would we stay again , most likely but I would ask for a room that does not overlook the Convent Market Square . Best of Luck Hotel Metro , You deserve to do well. Keep at it !

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor and do not face the market
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenRosie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Metro! We strive to ensure our guests have a great experience at our intimate hotel property. We are also happy to hear you had a good experience with our staff, which is our greatest asset (we can't say this enough).

As mentioned in an earlier post, the owners do listen to the feedback and take it very seriously. We are currently going through a Hotel Enhancement project to address concerns just like yours. We really do appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you ever so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The only reason I am giving this hotel a 3 is because of the lovely staff. We stayed here as we had a funeral to go to in the city. This hotel is described as a 4 star boutique hotel. It is a boutique hotel, but it is very tired. It needs more staff--even though the staff that we encountered were so professional and very friendly. The rooms need to be re-designed. It is beyond awkward. We could hear the toilet flush in the room above us. We had a Keurig coffee maker in the room with the pods, sugar etc., but no stir sticks. The amenties stated there were robes, but there weren't...there wasn't a shower cap even though they have rainfall showers. Try and shower without getting your hair wet. Good luck. Vera Wang matress--it needs to be replaced. Maybe they should purchase some good Sealy's! It's just the little things that drive you crazy when you travel. This place has potential....I hope they listen! I wonder if the owners of this place have ever stayed there?.....After reading the other reviews, yes, the images on the hotel's website are very nice, but boy, it is deceiving....

Room Tip: Not a great place for a restful sleep...I could hear people screaming out on the street...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Firstly, thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Metro in London, Ontario. We value our guest's comments and appreciate constructive feedback any chance we get. We strive to ensure our guests have a great experience at our intimate hotel property.

We are also happy to hear you had a good experience with our staff, which is our greatest asset. We did have a wedding celebration this weekend, so we apologize if there didn't seem to be enough helpful hands during your visit.

At Hotel Metro, we carry a wide array of guest amenities in case you forget an item such as a toothbrush or razor. We also happen to carry shower caps as well! Our staff is always happy to bring something up at your request. Having said that, we should have had the shower caps in your room and we are moving to have that included with the other Aveda Spa amenities for your convenience. Thanks for your advice.

Hotel Metro is situated within the entertainment district and on Saturday nights you may occasionally hear some of the celebrations if facing Covent Market. We are more than happy to book one of our many suites that face Dundas St. or our Atrium. We will try our best to convey that information to our guests going forward.

The owners do listen to the feedback and take it very seriously. We are currently going through a Hotel Enhancement project to address concerns just like yours. We really do appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great little hotel in downtown London across the street from the Covent Market and l block to the Budweiser Garden (Labatte Centre). We were in London for a concert and wanted somewhere close for walking. The location of the hotel was ideal for spending the afternoon wandering and attending the evening concert. The room was spacious and comfortable - modern decor in greys, chrome and glass. The vanity, tub and shower were open concept, part of the room with the flusher in a private closet. Great restaurant - The Blu Duby downstairs was a treat after the show! Will definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruetzMildmay_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We're happy to hear of your great stay at Hotel Metro. We really strive to ensure our guests have a great experience!

Good to know that our location in the Entertainment district made it convenient for your event at Budweiser Gardens. We're also happy to hear you had a good time at The Blu Duby...the owners Joe and Cheryl Duby are fantastic.

We look forward to serving you again at Hotel Metro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location in downtown London, easy access off of the 401. We were on the 3rd floor & when we got off the elevator it was freezing! I don't think they heat the hallways which is odd. The carpet was stained in the hallway which didn't make for such a great first impression. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room. It had two double beds which overlooked an atrium. We had a fridge with two water bottles and a table in the corner with a keurig - what a great addition. The bathroom was nice and modern with a rainfall shower and Aveda products. The bathroom paint was dark which showed scrapes & scuffs on it but overall we were happy with the room. The bed was very comfortable. When we checked out in the lobby they had diff. juices on ice & fresh banana bread which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
337 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 32 Covent Market Pl, London, Ontario N6A 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are London’s premiere boutique hotel, nestled in the entertainment district of the downtown area. With a unique blend of lofty minimalism and a dash of trendy flair, we are the perfect escape from the ordinary hotel. We are the perfect blend of past and present contemporary design. At Hotel Metro: Consider it Done! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metro London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing