We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely NOT a 4 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The only reason I am giving this hotel a 3 is because of the lovely staff. We stayed here as we had a funeral to go to in the city. This hotel is described as a 4 star boutique hotel. It is a boutique hotel, but it is very tired. It needs more staff--even though the staff that we encountered were so professional and very friendly. The rooms need to be re-designed. It is beyond awkward. We could hear the toilet flush in the room above us. We had a Keurig coffee maker in the room with the pods, sugar etc., but no stir sticks. The amenties stated there were robes, but there weren't...there wasn't a shower cap even though they have rainfall showers. Try and shower without getting your hair wet. Good luck. Vera Wang matress--it needs to be replaced. Maybe they should purchase some good Sealy's! It's just the little things that drive you crazy when you travel. This place has potential....I hope they listen! I wonder if the owners of this place have ever stayed there?.....After reading the other reviews, yes, the images on the hotel's website are very nice, but boy, it is deceiving....

Room Tip: Not a great place for a restful sleep...I could hear people screaming out on the street...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Firstly, thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Metro in London, Ontario. We value our guest's comments and appreciate constructive feedback any chance we get. We strive to ensure our guests have a great experience at our intimate hotel property.

We are also happy to hear you had a good experience with our staff, which is our greatest asset. We did have a wedding celebration this weekend, so we apologize if there didn't seem to be enough helpful hands during your visit.

At Hotel Metro, we carry a wide array of guest amenities in case you forget an item such as a toothbrush or razor. We also happen to carry shower caps as well! Our staff is always happy to bring something up at your request. Having said that, we should have had the shower caps in your room and we are moving to have that included with the other Aveda Spa amenities for your convenience. Thanks for your advice.

Hotel Metro is situated within the entertainment district and on Saturday nights you may occasionally hear some of the celebrations if facing Covent Market. We are more than happy to book one of our many suites that face Dundas St. or our Atrium. We will try our best to convey that information to our guests going forward.

The owners do listen to the feedback and take it very seriously. We are currently going through a Hotel Enhancement project to address concerns just like yours. We really do appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 471 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great little hotel in downtown London across the street from the Covent Market and l block to the Budweiser Garden (Labatte Centre). We were in London for a concert and wanted somewhere close for walking. The location of the hotel was ideal for spending the afternoon wandering and attending the evening concert. The room was spacious and comfortable - modern decor in greys, chrome and glass. The vanity, tub and shower were open concept, part of the room with the flusher in a private closet. Great restaurant - The Blu Duby downstairs was a treat after the show! Will definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruetzMildmay_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zul K, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We're happy to hear of your great stay at Hotel Metro. We really strive to ensure our guests have a great experience!

Good to know that our location in the Entertainment district made it convenient for your event at Budweiser Gardens. We're also happy to hear you had a good time at The Blu Duby...the owners Joe and Cheryl Duby are fantastic.

We look forward to serving you again at Hotel Metro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location in downtown London, easy access off of the 401. We were on the 3rd floor & when we got off the elevator it was freezing! I don't think they heat the hallways which is odd. The carpet was stained in the hallway which didn't make for such a great first impression. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room. It had two double beds which overlooked an atrium. We had a fridge with two water bottles and a table in the corner with a keurig - what a great addition. The bathroom was nice and modern with a rainfall shower and Aveda products. The bathroom paint was dark which showed scrapes & scuffs on it but overall we were happy with the room. The bed was very comfortable. When we checked out in the lobby they had diff. juices on ice & fresh banana bread which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After seeing the stunning photos on Hotel Metro's website and being a fan of boutique hotels I had high expectations I suppose. Upon entering our room there was a funny smell, just the cleaning products I think but not pleasing. The thing I love about boutique hotels are how unique the rooms are but the first thing I saw was an ugly wood panel in the window to accommodate the window air conditioner. I understand an old building might not have central air, but the wood panel could have been painted to match the room or the blind pulled down to hide it. I love open concept rooms but this one just felt like they forgot to put a wall where the shower/sink was. The bed frame was slightly too big for the mattress which caused both my husband and I to hit our shins on it multiple times. The sink didn't drain properly and there was loud music and noise from the bar nearby until 2am. It was a great location and very clean just a lot of little things that we likely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this hotel!
The staff(Ryan and Katherynne),and the manager were all warm ,welcoming ,helpful and knowledgeable .Great restaurant suggestions and directions.
The hotel surpassed my expectations!The decor was tasteful and modern,room huge with separate shower and bath tub,free internet and North America long distance calling.
I will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Facing Market rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255katherinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHANDAKER, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Your review is just one more reason why our staff enjoys working at hotel metro! Great review or not so it always motivates us to do better. Thank you so much. Ehsan Khandaker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend there celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary few weeks ago, unfortunately I do not remember the lady who checked us in when we arrived on the Wednesday but she was very friendly and helpful.
Although the air condition unit was a bit loud we were told how that could be adjusted and it was. No hassle at all, hence the 5 stars. Good location, lovely people, you should visit. All in all a terrific place ! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauredu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHANDAKER, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you so very much for your observations. We were delighted to have you at hm and look forward to serving you very soon.
While we can control what happens inside hotel metro. i. e. our service, Exclusive, Private and Unique! Your review will be instrumental for our city officials.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Ehsan Khandaker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room was beautiful;.brick wall, clean-looking modern furniture, loft feel and amazing bathtub and shower stall as part of the open concept. A perfect example of what a room in a boutique hotel should look like; lovely attention to detail, wonderful, thick, absorbent towels and plush bathrobe that does the trick after a shower with a great rainwater style shower head.

The staff was amazing. They bent over backwards to accommodate my requests and they did it with a smile and genuine friendliness. Clearly they enjoy working there and I got the feeling that they are treated well.

Also, we ate at blu duby, the restaurant in the hotel and it was delicious. I have a number of dietary restrictions and ended up with a yummy meal that took these restrictions into account beautifully.

Finally, I booked a hot stone massage and the therapist that the staff arranged was amazing. One of the best massages I've ever had - and I've had quite a few. I'm forever fighting repetitive motion injuries as a result of being married to my computer and this was one, amazing massage.

All in all a great experience. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King loft suite and it was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mif33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHANDAKER, General Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

As a boutique hotel we take pride in serving our guests. Planning is half the battle. Just ask us and w'll plan your best getaways! from in-room massage to floating candles to roses; all planned just the exact times you wish. All Our satisfied guests have taken our advice. So go ahead, call us for your next stay in London. We are listening to our valued guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
337 reviews
Central London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 32 Covent Market Pl, London, Ontario N6A 1E2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in London
#5 Family Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are London’s premiere boutique hotel, nestled in the entertainment district of the downtown area. With a unique blend of lofty minimalism and a dash of trendy flair, we are the perfect escape from the ordinary hotel. We are the perfect blend of past and present contemporary design. At Hotel Metro: Consider it Done! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metro London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing