We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas Tuesday”
Review of Kantina Restaurant - CLOSED

Kantina Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $30
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Tapas Tuesday”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Tuesday & Wednesday night is Tapas-only at Kantina, which I am always up for as I enjoy small plates. We ordered a few selections, but none were really that amazing. The food was certainly good quality and had good tastes, but nothing really excited us or knocked our socks off. We had been to Kantina once before a year ago, and had a spotty experience (my dish was far too salty & dessert was tasteless, but my husband's dishes were delicious, so we wanted to give Kantina another try).
Since the tapas didn't really provide us with a memorable dining experience, I doubt we'll be back on our own volition (perhaps if a dinner party is organized here by someone else). However, I suggest people give it a try once to see if you like it. It's certainly high-quality food with very good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlwrldgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fancy Eastern European place tucked away...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant is pretty small, but it's nice because it's not super busy or loud. It's dimly lit and a nice place for dates. The service was also exceptional.

I ordered beef paprikash because it's something my Croatian grandmother would make, and it was well worth it. I also ordered a couple of Drunk Serbs which is a great drink that is not too sweet!

I'm sure reservations are a good idea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Kantina and what a wonderful surprise. My wife and I ate supper along with a couple of friends. The atmosphere is very cool and laid back.
We both had the Serbian Salad to start and it is great, very light and refreshing. For mains, we each had Chicken Ravioli (apparently new to the menu) and it was simply delicious and not at all heavy. Our friends had the Tiger Shrimp and they were huge, server on a bed of risotto. For desert I had the Rice Pudding which is served cold with scoop of apricot sherbet in the middle, surrounded by rum soaked raisins and underneath was a dollop of fig. Wonderful!
I cannot believe we have not eaten at this restaurant before given how great the food is here. Will definitely put this on our list of regular restaurant visits from now on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal and top-notch service = new fav!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I recently had the opportunity to dine here and it was a wonderful experience. The food quality was superb and the atmosphere was great...very different from other London restaurants - in a good way! Entree was the homemade duck sausage, followed by a chocolate lava cake with bacon maple ice cream...mmm...bacon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rondirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Reserve Early, This Small Place is a Winner!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Finally, someone dares to be different in London, Ontario and the result is excellent food that makes your palate dance! I had the smoked salmon in cucumber as an appetizer, my husband had the fish chowder, both were delicious with complementary flavours. Black George was my main dish and it was scrumptious. Duck sausage, while not presented all that nicely, was equally delicious (slice up the sausage on the plate and add more colour to the plate, will be perfect then). Molten lava cake for dessert was pure chocolate heaven! Wine list needs work but there is something for everyone. Service was really nice, efficient, and polite without being intrusive. Atmosphere is cozy and a little noisy at times, has a great urban buzz to it. Total price for dinner, with two starters, two mains, two glasses of wine and one dessert was $98 plus tip. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantina Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing