We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-End Pub Experience”

The Church Key Bistro-Pub
Ranked #4 of 1,067 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: British, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central London
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High-End Pub Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Church Key, located beside St Paul's Cathedral (reason for the name?), and across from the Grand Theatre in downtown London, provided an excellent lunch. The service was prompt and professional and the range of food and beers is good. My only complaint is no cask ale, but that is hard to come by in the London area. Still, you'd think that a place called the Church Key might have it. It was fortunate we had reservations as the place was jammed at noon and by pub standards this place is not spacious. The only other problem is parking. On-street parking in this area is catch-as-catch-can. The best bet might be to use one of the paid parking lots on Carling Street nearby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hornlihutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    217
    42
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best restaurant meal ever in London”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fabulous restaurant. Went there for dinner. Beautiful evening so we were able to sit on the patio. Food and service was excellent. The presentation of the dishes was creative and artistic. Wine list was very good and not overpriced. Will be returning there on our next trip to London.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXAggieLady
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“spent 4th of July”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

we loved this place for dinner after having attended the sun festival. good food friendly staff and convenient to down town. I liked the beer selection and food selection. I noticed that there is usually livemusic and the patio was full of regulars from work.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, wine, patio and service”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped in at The Church Key Pub on Tuesday for lunch with some friends as we were all visiting from out of town. Had seen the reviews on TripAdvisor and thought that it was a good choice.

As we are going through a heat wave in southern Ontario right now, we didn't really want to sit outside on the patio, but the restaurant was full inside. So we gave the patio a try. It is a lovely patio, not right on the street and with lots of shade. Even though the temperature was about 45C with humidex, it was bearable.

Enjoyed a lovely bottle of an very nicely chilled Pinot Grigio and a yummy Moroccan Beet Salad. All perfect on a hot day.

Our server was lovely and was right on top of keeping our water glasses full on this hot day. A small thing, but a wonderful thing.

I would definitely go back there and suggest it to friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AM2_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly what we like in a pub”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is our favorite place to go for a drink in town. Most of us, my friends and I, go after work for a few drinks every couple of weeks and are always happy with the service. It is cozy inside but also clean and welcoming. There is a great selection of drinks and the guys generally have a good time trying out the draft beers while I'm able to grab a cocktail or two. Haven't eaten much there myself but many of my friends do and are always satisfied. They have plenty of fresh menu options that seems to add to the pub like atmosphere and decor. The staff are well versed in pub fare and are very polite and accommodating. Many returns

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Key Bistro-Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Church Key Bistro-Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing