We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for and great service”

The Church Key Bistro-Pub
Ranked #3 of 1,053 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: British, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central London
London, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great for and great service”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited again before a performance at Centennial Hall. Very convenient for events downtown.

We had reservations and were seated right away. Turned out we were 45 minutes early but they handled this without issue.

We received prompt and attentive service. Questions and special requests handled without issue. Water refilled promptly as glasses emptied.

Three of the party ordered the Church Key Burger and all reported it was very good. Interesting toppings caramelized onions, stilton cheese, organic arugula and tomato jam.

Another of the party had a beef cheek entrée which was almost like a stew. Beef was fork tender and the item was very well received.

Final item was the 8oz Ribeye. Steak was perfectly cooked and the garlic potato and mushrooms were a perfect accompaniment .

Everyone commented on the quality of their coffee.

Patio is very nice with a large awning so a nice location even on a rainy day.

We have been unable to get a table on earlier occasions as we had not made a reservation. Best to call ahead.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinsdale050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    208
    40
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just as advertised”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I ate here for lunch while in London. The place if charming and the food was wonderful. Staff was very attentive without making you feel rushed. The menu was quite varied and I only wish that we could have returned for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smclain4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not great”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a quick lunch here last month. The menu was interesting, but the food did not live up to the written descriptions. We were on a short break during a long road trip, so couldn't partake of the wine and beer offerings, which were extensive and tempting. I am sure the food would have been improved by a nice pint of beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hits the Mark in Every Way”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Atmosphere, location, food, staff - Church Key hits the mark in every way. For sure my go to place when visiting London.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner, friendly staff!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to the Church Key because other Trip Advisor reviews mentioned the sticky toffee pudding, but we have to say that everything we had was excellent. The place is small and we didn't have a reservation, so we sat at the bar and got great attentive (but not intrusive) service from Brett. From the Guinness (double poured, of course) to a wine he suggested for me, to the entrees and right through dessert, everything was delicious. The corned beef was two thick, tender slices of meat on top of a mound of mashed potatoes. The blackened black bass (a special) was tender, flaky and utterly fresh, prepared with a little kick. Just an awesome experience all around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Key Bistro-Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Church Key Bistro-Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing