We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flash backs to Spain”
Review of Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant - CLOSED

Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant
Price range: $16 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central London
Cross street: Piccadilly Street
Description: Marrying old world charm with high tech, Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant offers London diners a unique culinary experience. Established four years ago, owner Felipe Gomes has marketed Aroma as a destination eatery in the Forest City, with facilities for friends and corporate team building, a private conference room for up to 30, as well as a beautiful courtyard and dining room, featuring entertainment on weekends. Gomes’ newest addition to Aroma is an 18th century inspired wine cellar. To accompany the fabulous food, environment and wonderful wines, one can expect to see European style entertainment that complements all three. Every weekend features opera, Fado (Portuguese), Spanish guitarists, Flamenco, or jazz.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Have only been here once before almost a year to the day for company Xmas diner. It is always on my list of places to go but in my mind one to go and take your time.
We had the Bree appetizer and then I had the Sea bass , was as expected.

The less than spectacular entrance way hides the dining room, open airy yet comfy.

Recommend to anyone as one of London's premier eating destination

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrDoug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear MrDoug90,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and took your time during this busy season to enjoy our atmosphere and cuisine. Thank you for recommending Aroma to others! We look forward to having you join us again soon. Merry Christmas!

Sincerely,

Aroma Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 118 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

eight of us went in for a birthday dinner, and were seated in the "wine cellar". as soon as we were seated, bread and butter / tapenade were brought out and put on the table. drink orders were done, and then there was much discussion about menu items. the waiter was very attentive, but not pushy in any way.
linda and i ordered the calamari / chorizo / olives as an appetizer, and were very impressed by the flavours. we ended up sharing appetizers with some of the others who had also ordered them - and the calamari was agreed to be the best of all.
linda ordered the grilled mixed kebab (beef, chicken, pork) on saffron rice. everything perfect - great flavour. i ordered the braised short ribs. and sent my compliments back to the chef. a red wine, mushroom, and caramelized onion braise that was beyond words. i only wish the chef would share his recipe for that. best braised ribs i've ever had. some of the group had desserts (a fairly good selection), but again - too much food, not enough room for us.
not a cheap meal - but you get what you pay for - great food, great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank extoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Extoronto,

We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience, thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Yes, the Calamari is a very popular dish, one of the owners favourites! Your positive feedback has been passed along to the Chef and the server taking care of you; they are both appreciative of your kind words. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Sincerely,

Aroma Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went there in November for a fund raiser. The buffet kept running out and people had nothing to eat. Paid a good chunk of change to be there. It seemed like the food that was put out was just leftovers from the day.

Thank PVD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear PVD60,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The written contract between Aroma and the organizer stated that the menu was to be cocktail reception appetizers (5-7 pieces per person). We have since learned that the event was advertised by the client as 'dinner' which was the wrong information. The event was a fundraiser and the organizers were selling tickets for $40.00 each, with $14.95 per person going to pay for the food provided by Aroma. The food was replenished to keep up with the high demand with no additional charge. We also provided food for the entertainers and the venue at no charge. We provided exactly what was agreed upon in the contract. We recommend that you contact the organizer directly. We value all of our guests and the top two comments that we receive on a regular basis is that we provide very generous food portions and how committed we are to giving back to the community in various ways.
Sincerely,
Aroma Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was a excellent place to go and celebrate my birthday. We were in the wine cellar room that was a neat place to sit. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent. It was one of my most memorable places I have been to celebrate my birthday.

Thank Doris041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Doris041,

Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Aroma in our Adega Wine Cellar, it is a unique dining atmosphere. Special occasions deserve to be celebrated, we are glad you joined us for your birthday! Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit, we look forward to seeing you back at Aroma soon.

Sincerely,

Aroma Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had our father's birthday celebration here recently, and it was a wonderful experience. Our party of 19was well taken care of, and the food was excellent. Our server Tom was excellent. The atmosphere was perfect, and we will definitely come back when we visit again. The cooking class they offer looks like a lot of fun.

Thanks to all the staff at Aroma for a very memorable celebration!

Thank bob_connelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AromaRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Hello Bob_Connelly,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your family celebration at Aroma last weekend. We also appreciate you taking the time to write of your recent dining experience. We value the importance of special occasions and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your father's birthday gathering. We will pass along your praise to Tom; he is a great asset to our team. We look forward to having you return to Aroma.

Sincerely,

Aroma Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing