We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Avoid" overpriced boarding house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guest House on the Mount
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is a run down boarding house and has the standards of the fifties.
It is definitely not recommended if you are looking for privacy and want to relax in a clean and comfortable room.

The rooms are spartan and small. No table, no chair, no radio, no clock, no shelf space.
The Queen beds are small and worn out.
The sound proof is very poor. You will hear your neighbours business. The heating, ventilation, air conditioning can not be regulated and is loud.
To get a reasonable rate you have to use the public bathrooms that are simple and not always clean.

The kitchen is substandard equipped and there is a lack of food.

To sum this up this a very spartan place to stay if you do not mind to share your life in public and are looking for the standards of a "Guest House".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here when my mother was in hospital; it's about a 10 minute walk door to door, and you're walking across a park for about half that walk.

My family stayed in the "family suites" (we rented 2, without bathrooms): 2 single beds, 1 queen bed, table with 4 chairs, closet (one has a tiny closet, the other a large walk-in), mini-fridge, flatscreen TV (with a more than acceptable program selection), couch, and some random night tables / end tables.

Furnishings seemed quite new, albiet requiring someone to go over them and retighten the bolts ... especially the queen bed and the chairs. These two rooms are giant; during the day, we had upwards of 10-12 people in one of the rooms and it wasn't crowded. The two rooms we had were the "chapel" in this facility before it was repurposed, so a bunch of the windows were stained glass. Linens were seemingly of high quality and were clean, as expected.

The hotel has common kitchens, laundry facilities, and washrooms; most rooms don't have them unless specified. As well, there is a common area with a big TV and lots of chairs and tables; this is a "quiet" area, good for reading or watching something if there are others sleeping in your room. The common kitchen is big and well stocked (pots, pans, cutlery, toaster, microwave, collanders, etc) with two enormous fridges for all to store their items. The bathrooms are very utilitarian, but have accessible showers and toilets, and are very clean. Laundry facilities are coin operated; $2 per, and the machines have quite high capacity.

Front desk staff are there 24 hrs a day and were very helpful when we needed assistance. Special mention to Matilda (I hope I remember her name correctly).

If I had a complaint, it was the queen bed was soft. I suppose it's personal preference, but I've personally never slept on such a soft bed.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a family room without bathroom, request 210; it has a much larger closet whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ettore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This motel is clean and quiet sitting on beautiful grounds. Wife stayed here for thee weeks and the motel was suitable and priced right. Location is perfect, mall just north with many places to eat. Close to St. Joseph's Hospital and university.
Room was small but had everything that was needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I don't know what other people are talking about on here. This place,for the price, is perfect for me. I was staying there to be close to a family member in the hospital. But I would come back just for some quiet me time. The carpets in my room weren't dirty at all!! In fact they looked new. And I had a full bathroom in my unit AND a TV (small, but I don't even OWN a tv so who cares?). The grounds are beautiful, and it's nestled away from traffic. It was walking distance to the hospital, even in winter, which I was thankful for, because parking at the hospital is beyond expensive. I can relate to how some people would prefer to have a desk, as I wanted one too. But I liked how it had a kitchen, laundry room and a very nice common room to relax in and observe the beauty of the Thames. I also liked the beds, and found mine comfortable. I would come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GetFit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a four night stay that was quite pleasant. I arrived late and was met by a pleasant older lady who was quite proud of the place and gave me a mini-tour despite it being midnight!
My room was large and clean. It would have been useful to have a desk on what amounted to a business visit. I had half bath and the bathroom was fine. The showers were shared but clean.
A kitchen was available that was clean. All I used it for was to get salt for mouth washing, but could have bought food to prepare there if I wanted.
The bed was comfortable and clean.
There was a small amount of noise from the street north of the facility in the morning but pretty minor. As there is a telephone in the hallway, and it was right by my door, there was one annoying evening when someone made a long call. At actual sleeping hours all was very quiet.
The location is very good for Western (UWO) and adjoining hospitals. One can walk on a paved trail along the river to get to the university more directly.
I think I can see some of the negative points some people made but for my stay the value was exceptional and I had no significant complaints.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This place is an over priced former Ontario Mental Health facility. It was close and now converted to a hotel (?). it is nor recommended due to it's austere facility, lack of cleanliness and institutional decor and atmosphere. It has long tm residence, a sub standard kitchen and communal showers that are old and make Army facilities look positively delightful in comparision. The sound proofing is very poor. However, if you are inclined, the grounds are nice but so what. Oh and my room, the carpet was very dirty, one chair, no desk. As of today there are now TV,s in the rooms. If one is staying in support of a hospital stay. There must be better deals available. My son said the place was "creepy" ; I concur.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
134  Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Former hospital floor is noticeable in the rooms. If you don't mind to share shower and be close Alzheimer institute and children day care facility this is clean & affordeable. No breakfast, no bar - kitchen available.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Econo Lodge
#23 of 41 in London
207 reviews
Westminster
Days Inn London
Days Inn London
#20 of 41 in London
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Quality Suites London
Quality Suites London
#21 of 41 in London
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House on the Mount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House on the Mount

Address: 1486 Richmond St | Ignatia Hall- 2nd Floor, London, Ontario N6G 2M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in London
Price Range: $50 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House on the Mount 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House on The Mount is a boutique hostel; offering clean, simple and economical accommodations. Our unique location beside the Thames River overlooks the Forest City and is highlighted with wonderful green spaces. We offer many common areas to make your stay feel like a home away from home. There are fully equipped self-serve kitchens for your cooking needs, a lounge with comfy furniture and a bigger TV, as well as laundry onsite and free cable and internet. Located close to the popular Masonville Place and a quick drive downtown, you'll have no problems finding entertainment, new cuisine or enjoying a day of shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guest House on the Mount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House On The Mount Hotel London
Guest House On The Mount London, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing