We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills here to distract from the excellent food”
Review of Tacos Tony

Tacos Tony
Ranked #10 of 88 Restaurants in Leamington
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“No frills here to distract from the excellent food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Don't be discouraged by the sparse interior and down-and-dirty looks, that's just authentic flair. There are no frills here to distract from the excellent food. I ordered a plain old beef burrito, what I got was a well presented, flavourful and spicy dish. Service was friendly and quick. I would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Muy bueno!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My spouse and I dropped in here for lunch after running around in Essex County. We'd heard of this place and finally had a chance to check it our.

We were not disappointed.

The food was delicious, with large portions. The green "hot sauce" is a must try - if you're not used hot sauces, however, use sparingly to start.

The décor is nothing spectacular, but you don't eat décor.

Our entire meal came to $17.00 and I was more than happy to leave a generous tip.

We will definitely be back.

Gracias!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shellhornj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's not Tex-Mex”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

People expecting Tex-Mex will be disappointed, because this is authentic Mexican cuisine. It's delicious, and inexpensive. They were out of chicken when I visited. It's a family business, and the kids were a little boisterous for a while, but besides those small problems, I will definitely return when passing through Leamington.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank umgabri2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Decided to give this place a try during lunchtime since it had the most reviews on Yelp. I'm assuming the chef/waiter was Tony. Start with the positive. Inexpensive food and $4 burgers; not that I would come here for a burger. I ordered a Taco supreme (beef, pork and chicken) and a small chicken tortilla. I'm shocked by the 5 star reviews. This place is bad. Maybe it's a 5 star in Leamington since I haven't tried the other Mexican places in town. I have been to many Mexican restaurants in the US and Mexico.

Brown chicken got my attention. All the meat was ground up; if it was really meat. I felt sick all afternoon. Now I know why a local Canadian told me he only goes there after a night of drinking.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Level Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An authentic experience, and then there's great food!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Reminds me of the "beaneries" that dot the secondary roads of Southern California. The reviews give a good description of the great food, but variety is limited. The green salsa is to die for...or die of...be careful. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, and when you ask Tony what is owed at the cash register, He often replies with a question like, 'Seven dollars okay?" Got to love it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Tony also viewed

 
Leamington, Ontario
Leamington, Ontario
 

Been to Tacos Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing