We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Paula's Fish Place

Paula's Fish Place
Ranked #12 of 88 Restaurants in Leamington
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Paula's Fish Place is open Mid March to the beginning of November. A beautifully newly renovated restaurant along Lake Erie minutes around golf, Motels & a National Park. We specialize in Fresh Lake Erie Yellow Perch & Pickerel Grilled and lightly battered. We have a beautiful outdoor Patio looking at the Lake with weekend local dinning Entertainment. Serving Local Wines and local produce.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had the perch and pickerel special. The perch was ok but the pickerel tasted fishy. I don't know if this is because the fish was not fresh or if it was cooked with the skin still on. Additionally, one would think that the restaurant, being in the tomato capital of Canada, would have nice fresh local tomatoes in their salads, but I think the salad was out of a bag and the tomatoes were those under-ripe imports. Disappointed. Service was nice and friendly, but it was not very busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    27
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice meals”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A lot of places in this region use a thick batter that soaks up a lot of oil and conceals what is actually a small piece of fish, but I liked Paula's Fish Place because their batter is thin, crispy, not greasy, and actually complements the flavor of the fish. I had their yellow perch dinner and my husband had their pickerel dinner. Both were delicious and the fish was plentiful. My only complaints are that they could have given us a slightly larger portion of rice and that they could have used mixed greens rather than iceberg lettuce salad (it feels a little bit more upscale and helps justify the cost). Kudos to the servers, who were very nice and knowledgeable about all the menu items.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
238 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good location”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent few days birding at Point Pelee and visited Paula' Fish Place for a late dinner. The staff was friendly; they prepared dinner for us although it was closing time and we were the only ones in the restaurant. Our food was ok, yellow perch and pickerel, although the salad was not fresh and the fries were likely made in overly used oil...but what could we have expected at the end of the day? We were glad to have dinner and we much appreciated the friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ina_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Food Not Limited To Fish”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week birding at Point Pelee and visited Paula's for dinner on 4 occasions.

Staff are very attentive and friendly and help to give the place that small town, neighbourly feel.

Yellow perch, pickerel, salmon and chicken fettuccini recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kestrels666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Perch in a basket, fries and coleslaw and a beer...Perfect!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After our first visit ever in the Park just an excellent lunch of yellow perch basket with home cut fries and coleslaw.

Certainly happy with Paula's convenient location for tourists and that we didn't go with the review of the apparently disgruntled local below!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Are J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paula's Fish Place also viewed

Leamington, Ontario
Leamington, Ontario
 

Been to Paula's Fish Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing