We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice walks, helpful staff and the Monarchs”

Point Pelee National Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Leamington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1918, this small yet popular park is home to a variety of trees and birds.
Sudbury,ON
Level Contributor
487 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Nice walks, helpful staff and the Monarchs”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The various walks are well signed - we enjoyed seeing the old farmhouses and the canals and marshes. Take the shuttle to the tip and walk back along the Trail where we were lucky enough to see many Monarchs on their migration south. The Visior Centre was well-organized and the staff very helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanBrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    138
    26
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Interesting spot”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Weather was so-so, but still quite a few people there. The shuttle had to make two trips to accommodate everyone. Beautiful point of land, mostly birders/butterfly people...we saw 8 Monarchs.
Southernmost point on Canada's mainland

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrammyofTriplets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bicycles, seagulls butterflies and turkeys”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We rented bikes as a family on site and rode through the park. My son chased thousands of seagulls into the air along one of the long stretch of beaches, which was the highlight for him. Butterflies everywhere and it wasn't even migration season. And we saw 5 wild turkeys - how cool is that?! The walk to the point from the end of the park road is worth it. A couple of us took a swim in the calm cool water we found there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Natural Gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Once through the National Park entrance you're in a world of lush, green vegetation, almost endless and pristine sand beaches, extensive wetlands (one with an elevated boardwalkl), and "The Tip", a narrow sandspit that juts far into Lake Erie and forms the most southerly point of mainland Canada!

In early September, on a weekday, we visited this amazing natural area for the first time. The day was sunny, clear and hot (about 30C) so we spent much of our day strolling the wonderful beaches, (e.g. Black Willow, Northwest) deserted except for a few sea gulls, along the west edge of the park, waded into the 2-foot high waves that chrashed onto the shore, and enjoyed the view of the sparkling, blue waters of the lake.

Caught the free Shuttle at the Visitor Center for a magical 10-minute ride through dense broadleaf forest to near The Tip, then walked a short distance parallel to the east shore until we emerged out of the woods and saw the ever-narrowing sandy spit that came to a point not far ahead. Several people were there ahead of us exploring the final junction point of land and water. My wife and I walked out to the very end where the last stretch of sand ended and waves from the west side of the spit met the calm waters of the east.

On our way north toward the entrance we stopped at the Marsh Boardwalk, where we climbed the 60-foot tall observation tower for a fantastic view of the vast wetlands. A walk through part of the marsh on the elevated, boardwalk gave us close-up views of the lush reeds and cattails crowding in on both sides.

I'd highly recommend a visit to this national treasure for anyone interested in seeing nature at its best.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank curtiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The park is extremely well maintained. It is very visitor friendly with lots of trails and ample parking. Every member of the park staff we talked with was knowledgeable and friendly. We're already planning our next visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadster909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Pelee National Park also viewed

Leamington, Ontario
 

Been to Point Pelee National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing