We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Quiet Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage
Ranked #1 of 8 Leamington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Quiet Escape”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Duck Pond B&B is a wonderful, private escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. It is immaculately clean and full of amenities. The stand alone cottage is very chic with clean linens and welcoming decor. The breakfasts are indeed world renowned with homemade jams, bread, and so forth. If you are interested in bringing your own food, the cottage is equipped with a large fridge, microwave, toaster, and electric "hotplates" to serve as a stove. Coffee, tea, and a kettle are offered on site as well. The B&B is also quite close to Point Pelee National Park and it is easy to get there as it is situated near one of the main roads in the area. We would highly recommend Duck Pond B&B to anyone and would definitely return in the future.

Cheers,

Marcus and Sham

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
83
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For some time, we'd been hoping to travel to the Point Pelee area to check out the wildlife, especially the Monarch Butterfly migration. The Duck Pond B&B is conveniently situated in the area to enjoy both the park and Pelee Island. Aad and Marjolein have created a perfect, quiet, very private getaway. Marjolein's pre-made omelettes were a scrumptious surprise. Two minutes in the micro and they were rich and creamy (without the rubbery texture you might expect from a made-the-night-before omelette). She also went the extra mile to create sugar free muffins for me (a diabetic) that were fantastic. The cottage was spotless. Both Aad and Marjolein were warm hosts - get Aad to tell you about his wooden shoes...and to top it all off, it was great fun checking out the ducks in the pond at the back of the property.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Duck Pond B & B is a stand alone cottage that has all the comforts of home in a quiet country setting. It is bright, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast are delicious. You are only
minutes away from birding areas and many good restaurants and tea rooms. Marjolene and Aad
are wonderful host and hostess and very knowledgeable about the area. This is our second time
there and will be back in the future. Have recommended to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Loved our stay here. The breakfasts were delicious. The host thoughtful. The unit is in its own standalone building so it's quite private. And it's spacious (there were two of us), comfortable and clean. Having a nearly fully equipped kitchen in the unit (full fridge, microwave, electric burners, no oven but there's a BBQ) was super useful as I have dietary restrictions and my husband can't have salt, so often have to bring or make our own food when traveling. I loved looking out of the large kitchen window in the morning and seeing the farm fields and the duck pond. It's not far from Point Pelee, which was great as butterflies and birding was one of the reasons for our trip. Gazing at the stars from the huge backyard was a great way to end our last night (we live in a city so don't get much of a chance to see the night sky).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A excellant restaurant beautiful cottage fun and friendly place. Fun place in canada fun people christian atmosphere. Neat fun upbeat atmosphere.nice place to travel to a happy place. honest good people. A good place to get away. Quiet and peaceful . a roomy place comfy. the minute you open the door you feel right at home.The Breakfast delightful.Homemade treats.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeModern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjolein D, Owner at Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
In response to the review from this traveler I would like to mention that I am grateful for the 5 star review.
However I do need to point out a couple of incorrectly stated facts.
We do not have a restaurant, we are a Bed & Breakfast.
We do not promote a Christian or any other religious atmosphere. We are welcoming and respecting guests of all religious and non religious beliefs, and want every guest to feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This guest house is a charming cabin with all of the comforts of home. The hostess, Marjolein, has thought of everything, there were even fresh flowers on the table. It is obvious that there is a lot of care taken to make sure that guests don't want for anything. The breakfast was delightful!
Marjolein knows the area well and she was able to recommend a great spot for swimming, a nice winery, and a good restaurant in the area. We wanted to pick up some local fruit to take home and Marjolein's recommendations for local garden markets was very helpful as well. Sitting in the backyard in the evening watching the duck pond with some wine we picked up at the winery made for a very relaxing evening. Eventhough we only stayed for one night, we came home feeling like we had been away for a longer holiday. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Duck Pond's host and hostess put their heart and soul into this place and it shows! The cottage is roomy, spotless, and super comfy. The minute that you open the door, you feel right at home. The kitchen table is beautifully set with an assortment of homemade treats and your custom breakfast is waiting for you in the fridge. It was the perfect spot to end a perfect vacation. If we are in the area again, we will stay at the Duck Pond!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copilot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leamington
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Leamington
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 9 in Leamington
341 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn Leamington
Quality Inn Leamington
#3 of 9 in Leamington
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingsville
62 reviews
5.6 mi away
Seacliffe Inn
Seacliffe Inn
#2 of 8 in Leamington
129 reviews
7.6 mi away
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
#3 of 8 in Leamington
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage

Property: Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage
Address: 901 Mersea Road 7 | Ontario, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leamington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our country setting allows guests a relaxing stay. The Cottage is surrounded by farmers' fields, with a view of the duck pond from your private patio. We are famous for our lavish breakfasts, self catered, to be enjoyed at your leisure in the privacy of our guesthouse.We offer free internet access and free phone calls in North America and to Western Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Pond Bed And Breakfast Cottage Leamington, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing