We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage
Ranked #1 of 8 Leamington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our first trip away from home with our 3-month old son and the Duck Pond B&B Cottage had everything we needed. It would have been difficult to stay at a regular B&B with such a small child, so this provided the luxury of homemade breakfasts combined with the privacy of the cottage. Additionally, having a kitchenette and BBQ meant that we had the flexibility of making our own dinners.

The breakfasts were outstanding and Marjolein was very accommodating -- I am currently unable to eat dairy products and she went out of her way by making soya-milk crepes for one of our breakfasts which were indistinguishable from regular crepes. And we enjoyed them with her recommendation of baked apple and bacon with maple syrup! Yum! Other breakfasts were egg-based (an omelet and "egg muffins" - both delicious) and she labelled all the breads and treats whether they contained butter/dairy or not. The bread and jams were all homemade and tasted wonderful.

Finally, the cottage was comfortable, clean and felt like home. We had a lovely 3-night stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone traveling to the area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Duck Pond B&B is a lovely little "cottage" with all the comforts of home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We sat outisde on the patio for drinks before preparing our own dinner on the BBQ and had a relaxing evening watching a movie. Slept well and the breakfast was delicious...wish I had room for more! We were off to catch the ferry to Pele Island in the morning so able to eat when we needed since the breakfast was made ahead of time. Lovely piece of property and great hosts!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanPWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night "babymoon" at the Duck Pond B&B. We needed something private, comfortable and convenient with me being 8 months pregnant and a 2 yr old in tow. The cottage itself was spotless, easy to find and close to Point Pelee Park; breakfasts were hearty and delicious. We especially appreciated how thoughtful Marjolein was - she provided a booster seat, a swing, a special custard treat and duck food for our little guy. He is still talking about those ducks! We highly recommend this place to everyone - families, couples and singles alike.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas ON Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have been to so many B&B's over the past 20 years and for comfort, hospitality and access, none can compare to the Duck Pond. By having your own detached building, you get privacy, choose when you want to eat a delicious breakfast and you can park your car at the door step. Simply put, we just keep going back.
Norm and Norma

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

What a wonderful B&B this is. Spotlessly clean and complete with all the amenities of home. The breakfast complete with homemade breads and jams to eat at our leisure was delicious and plentiful. Marjolein, our host was extremely welcoming and has thought of everything to make her guests feel like they are truly on vacation. The view of the pond and farm field while sipping our morning coffee on the private patio was a great start to the day.
Point Pelee National Park was an easy, short drive from Duck Pond. As were the shops, restaurants and waterfront of Leamington.
My next visit to the area will definitely include Duck Pond B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimochimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent four-night stay. Our private "cottage" was well-equipped with everything from helpful brochures/maps on local points of interest to a very comfortable queen-sized bed. Each morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast; Marjolein would leave goodies in the fridge for us to heat up and enjoy at our leisure. She spoiled us with yummy home-made preserves, jams, breads, crepes, omlettes, yoghurt, fresh fruit, etc. Aad was very helpful in making suggestions for sight-seeing.

We timed our stay to coincide with the annual bird migration. Point Pelee Park is a wonderful site; park staff were very helpful and kind. We also got to see historical sites in the area.

It was a great visit to a very special part of Ontario. Thank you Marjolein and Aad.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed dining at the restaurant Marjolein recommended in Kingsville. I believe it was ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyedscubagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is not your ordinary B&B....it's very private, actually a separate apartment from the house. The amazing breakfasts are waiting for you in the fridge each evening with all the trimmings, listing of ingredients and instructions for warming. The hard part is waiting for the morning to try them out! On our last night it was warm enough to sit out on the patio and watch the sunset and in the morning we enjoyed breakfast in the same spot accompanied by numerous birds, rabbits and the ducks, of course. I highly recommend this B&B. We certainly hope to return for another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leamington hotels
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Leamington Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Leamington
Days Inn Leamington
#2 of 8 in Leamington
321 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn Leamington
Quality Inn Leamington
#3 of 8 in Leamington
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Seacliffe Inn
Seacliffe Inn
#2 of 8 in Leamington
119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Talbot Trail Inn & Suites
Talbot Trail Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Leamington
91 reviews
7.6 mi away
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
Point Pelee Lakeshore B&B
#3 of 8 in Leamington
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage

Property: Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage
Address: 901 Mersea Road 7 | Ontario, Leamington, Ontario N8H 3V8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Leamington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Leamington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our country setting allows guests a relaxing stay. The Cottage is surrounded by farmers' fields, with a view of the duck pond from your private patio. We are famous for our lavish breakfasts, self catered, to be enjoyed at your leisure in the privacy of our guesthouse.We offer free internet access and free phone calls in North America and to Western Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Duck Pond Bed and Breakfast Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Pond Bed And Breakfast Cottage Leamington, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing