We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New look with same great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AquaTerra

AquaTerra
Reserve with OpenTable
AquaTerra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 424 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Kingston
Description: On the Waterfront in Downtown Kingston. Located at the Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront, AquaTerra offers spectacular waterfront views and a menu that focuses upon fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Extensive wine list. Private and semi-private dining. Planning a special dinner or event? We cater offering drop-offs, pick-up or full service at the location of your choice. Make a reservation or buy a gift certificate on our website. See you on the water!
1 review
“New look with same great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We've been coming to aqua terra for years and my one previous complaint was that the decor could use a freshening up. Well they have done just that while still providing the best views of the waterfront. I had the beet salad which was delicious and my husband had the scallops that I had to fight to get a bite of. He then had the salmon fish feature which looked delicious but I was far too stuffed from my seafood risotto to even try it. After a couple of delicious cocktails our server gave us excellent guidance through their wine list and chose a karlo estates Gris rose which complemented our meal perfectly. My only wish is that I had saved room for dessert. Another success for Clark and his team.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiegirly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We absolutely love hearing from our loyal customers and appreciate your support over the years. Thank you for coming in to check out the “new” AquaTerra. We’re so glad to receive this positive feedback. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    135
    53
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Scenic and Deliscious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were greeted by friendly and knowledgeable staff and sat immediately. The view was amazing as we watched the sun go down over Lake Ontario. The food came promptly and was great. Definitely an experience my Fiancé and I will be looking to repeat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for dining with us. We are glad to know you had an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aqua Terra is Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have been coming to this restaurant for years and my Wife and I where very excited to experience Clark's latest makeover. I was not dissapointed !! The food was simply scrumptous !! Very cool new bar area got the night off to a great start. Then moved on to a wonderful dinner overlooking the harbour. Service was excellent and friendly !! Really Enjoyed the evening. will be back !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HockeyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely thrilled to know that you had an enjoyable experience and that you liked the new look. The new bar is very sleek and the perfect spot to set the mood for an elegant evening. We’re glad to hear that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So good I drove in from Ottawa to have dinner I could of stopped but I had to have there mushroom Salad and bread:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food, Service, Quality, Portion size, Atmosphere is all 5 stars. The updated in the bar and restaurant is a must see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jro1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
This is exactly the type of review we love to read! Thank you very much for travelling from Ottawa to experience the new and improved AquaTerra. We are very happy that you like the upgrades and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No longer the AquaTerra we knew”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

With some good news to celebrate, we booked a table at Aqua Terra, completely oblivious to the renovations. Our previous experiences were solid - inventive and well-executed food, great service, nice view. Last night's experience left us wondering, "Where did Clark go?!?" The place has undergone a transformation, but it's not for the better.

We started by ordering two classic cocktails (we're old-fashioned that way), and after a very long wait (20 min?), we received an ok negroni and a terrible sidecar that we sent back. The drinks were comped with apologies and an explanation that the "bartender" of that trendy blue-light monstrosity they installed (completely wrecking the lovely lounge that used to exist) had to look up the recipe. Hmmm...this did not bode well for the rest of our experience.

The appetizer was edible -- except the toast the lobster tidbit was perched on was soggy by the time it arrived. The mushroom salad was oddly large and decent. Our mains were disappointing. The five spice duck was slightly overcooked and just ok. The fish of the day was a disaster -- halibut on bacon/leek risotto. What arrived looked like a plate of - well - vomit. Whoever decided that a piece of white fish should be delivered on top of white risotto with a side of bile-coloured sauce, all on a white plate, needs a spanking. Really? $30 for that? Not even some parsley? Now, despite the lack of visual appeal, the fish was cooked fine (halibut is forgiving -- at least that was a good decision).

The reno is boring -- a sexed-up, trendoid place without soul. It looks like every other oversold restaurant coasting on blue neon with no gas in the tank. Save your $$ and go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chaosgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsKingston, Guest Relations Manager at AquaTerra, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are sorry that you did not have more positive comments to share about our restaurant. AquaTerra has undergone a significant transformation and we understand that change can be difficult, especially since you weren’t expecting it. The entire dining room, lounge and bar areas have been completely upgraded. Our restaurant is much more sleek, sophisticated, and modern. The remodel emphasizes our stunning water vistas and makes for an elegant dining experience. There are some things that have not changed though and Clark Day is one of them. AquaTerra is still “by Clark” and his exceptional culinary team. Once again, we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied during your last visit to AquaTerra but we hope that you will continue to be a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AquaTerra also viewed

 

Been to AquaTerra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing